Motivation logo

Introduction

The Human Helm

By The Human HelmPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

About the writer:

I am a 21 year old college student at the University of Connecticut. Although I am proud of my accomplishments thus far, finishing up my last year in college with the current circumstances of the world has allowed me to take a step back and evaluate myself and those around me. What am I going to do next? How do I get there? When do I start? How do I start? Is it going to work out? It became clear to me that it is not just college students who are asking these questions. So many people have wanted to do things or have wondered if they have the ability to change their own life. There are always excuses- not having enough money, having bad past experiences, not having the confidence, too busy, and the list goes on.

I personally have always loved starting new projects and seeing where they take me. Recently I met with a young girl who was inspired by the work that I have done in regards to a jewelry business I started a couple of years back. Meeting with her and her dad put things into perspective for me. She came prepared with ten questions to ask me, and they were basic ones. For example, why did I want to start my business? How did I get the courage to do it? What are the best and worst parts of starting something new? There are so many young people who I have inspired or wish they could do the things I have done. I then thought to myself… Why don’t I start something that allows people to get their questions answered and get inspired? My goal with this blog is not to share my own story or life experiences, but to share other peoples' hopes of inspiring those who read every week.The word “helm” means to manage, direct, or to be in a position of control. Everybody wants control over their life, and everyone wants to choose which way to go with their future. The Human Helm will be examples and real life stories of how people were able to take control and change their lives for the better.

We can all agree 2020 is a crazy year filled with "what if's" and is challenging each and every one of us mentally. My biggest takeaway is that life is too short to sit around and wait for opportunities, or to simply do what makes you happy. Additionally, getting out of your comfort zone has been a recurring theme this year. Regardless of what that means to you, it is crucial for continuing to develop as a human. Staying comfortable does not lead to change, nor does it bring opportunities to you. Whether it is starting a business, living a healthy lifestyle, maintaining a healthy relationship with yourself or others, or mental health...there are people all around me (and you) who have interesting, yet inspiring stories to tell- and I'm here to tell them.

The Breakdown:

I will be interviewing people who have any type of story to tell. In the weeks ahead you will read stories from business owners/entrepreneurs, survivors, students, and friends/family. They will be filled with inspiration for those wondering how and when they should start bettering their life. I will be posting once a week in a question/answer format, along with pictures and links so you can follow their journey! I truly hope this blog helps as many people as possible and I can’t wait to share stories with you every single week!

Follow @thehumanhelm on instagram for updates.

DM for any questions, comments, and/or requests.

self help
Like

About the Creator

The Human Helm

Real People, Real Stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.