Motivation logo

In Love With You

Cafecito

By Norma CrennaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Nothing Better than a Good Cup of Coffee

Work, work, work, school, kids, more work, house, more work. At the beginning of the day and the end of each day. A good cup of coffee keeps you going. As you see, I am a coffee lover to me. It is essential to have it around. It is like having a love of your life with you 24/7, but with the difference, you do not get tired of your coffee company. I started drinking coffee, and I would say when I was twenty-two years old. I was starting working as a receptionist. I did not have kids; my relationship with my husband at the time was terrible. So, I got used to drinking coffee, and it was a company, a way to kill anxiety, forget my problems for a while. Now I only knew American coffee, but with time I started trying different types of coffee. The more I work, the more I got into American with cream and sugar, Cortaditos (small cup of coffee with froth milk), macchiato, and so many more. It was so good that I could not stop, and I was getting carried away. But of course, like anything in this life, your body gets to a point where it says stop. And I did, I was getting sick because of the coffee with heartburn, losing appetite, losing weight, I did not need eating. Since I was drinking coffee all the time and always busy at work, it was the perfect combination. In 2015, after divorce, marry again, having kids. I started college online, and I will do classes at night when everyone is at sleep, I thought. Since I know how weak I am when it comes to coffee, I switch it to green tea. I was lying to myself; I miss coffee too much; green tea did nothing to me. So, I went and bought my espresso machine, oh boy, I was happy! I can study all night now and go to work in the morning and come home. Who is going to stop me now? And again, there it was heartburn, no eating, losing weight. I did not realize that the stress of everything I was doing got to me even worse than before. I was using coffee to cover up the pressure, the loneliness, the fear of failing, the anxiety, insecurities. So, after a year of drinking excessive amounts of coffee, I slow down. I drink coffee because of the taste, share with a good company, during breakfast, or after dinner. But I limit myself to a maximum of three cups a day, if any. I am three months away to graduate, and my kids are old enough to take care of themselves, work it is getting exciting but enjoyable.

A lot of plans, new adventure plans, a lot of goals about to be reached: the future seems promising, and I do not need to use coffee as a cover-up for my feelings anymore. Blessed with friends, family, people that I know I can count on whenever I need them. I am mature enough to fix my issues do not cover them up with coffee. It was an exciting journey that I am never going to forget. I am almost forty years old with a lot of experience in life and a lot of accomplishments. Proud to live life to the fullest and not let nothing get in the way of doing it. Today coffee is a beverage, not a therapist for my unresolved issues. And when it comes to relationships, well let us say that it is another story, for another time.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Norma Crenna

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.