Motivation logo

If You Weren't Afraid of Failure,

What Would You Do?

By Khushali BhattPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
If You Weren't Afraid of Failure,
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

I see this quote a lot, especially lately. Although, I bet I'm paying more attention to it because I'm scared.

I've been doing a lot of art lately. It looks like someone turned on the faucet and now it won't turn off. Paintings, drawings, sketches - they pour out of me and onto my canvas and sketchbook, as if they've been waiting for decades to finally come out.

I've shared with you before that most of my life art has been something I've glimpsed from time to time, but never allowed myself to dive into. It was an "extra" that I didn't allow myself to devote much time to because "it wasn't advancing my career or helping me take care of my family."

Well, 40 years of keeping it almost literally ended with a bang. I've made more art in the past few months than I could have imagined in years past. And I like making it, a lot.

That scares me.

Because I'm too scared to get my art out there.

About admitting – to myself, mostly – that maybe it's not that extra. It's probably the core of what I do, how I live, what I have to share with the world.

About trying to do something more with it and failing.

For work, for life, as a human being – a part of what I do vs. Forced, about not being able to figure out how to make it real.

I'm afraid to share it widely and no one will care.

I'm afraid that's not good enough.

I have heard many people describe me as fearless. And while I think that was meant as a compliment, I don't think it's possible to be human and have no fear. If you're trying something new, something creative, something that puts you on edge, whatever. And we all do it in some way, so we're all afraid.

The answer is not to somehow eliminate it. I don't think it's possible, not all the way. Maybe the only way to overcome fear is to never try to do anything you're afraid of, which in my opinion makes for a pretty terrible way to live.

As you read this it sounds like it's a lot more about pursuing some big lofty idea or vision. Yes it is about stretching to go for big ideas. It is also about taking small or intermediate steps. Speaking up and expressing your ideas at the next committee meeting is just as valuable as reaching a bigger vision if it takes you to another level of confidence and achievement. There is no need to believe in your abilities and be afraid to take on a new role or project that you love to do in your heart and have previously passed due to some fear.

Being aware of what you fear helps you understand what it might take to overcome that fear. Where can you find support to help you move forward? Can a trusted colleague, friend or family member be your confidant and resource? You may also consider seeking out a coach to be your thinking partner and trusted ally as you gain new awareness of what you fear and create strategies to overcome your fears and accomplish what you truly want to do.

We can make decisions out of fear or love.

There are many words you can substitute for love: passion, commitment, trust, kindness, dedication, faith, abundance, gratitude. We may use different words but I know you know what I mean.

What would you do differently if you could move from a place of fear to:

1) choose to do what you do

2)Trust in the good intentions of others

3)commitment to your cause

4)the strength of your belief

5)gratitude for having the opportunity to do something

6)dedication to a cause big or small

7)passion or excitement for something in your life

8)believe in your own ability to overcome challenges?

What would you do if you weren't afraid? Are you missing out on what is important to who you are and what you want to do?

successquoteshow tohappinessadvice
Like

About the Creator

Khushali Bhatt

https://www.instagram.com/khushali1603/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.