Motivation logo

I Officially Quit my Job and Got Into the Gig Economy Full Time

We’re living in the golden age of side hustles

By Kristen BradyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Image courtesy cottonbro via Pexels

I got into the gig economy in 2018, after coming across a YouTube video on how to make money on the side doing DoorDash. My current position wasn’t earning me enough money, so I started searching for ways to earn extra income. Everything was great until the pandemic of 2020 hit. I ended up losing my job completely and I had nothing to depend on but the gig economy. So, I started doing Instacart, Uber Eats and DoorDash full time.

Of course, I was worried about my car and wear and tear I was putting on it, but like I said, at the height of the pandemic, during those early days, there wasn’t much else to do. The more I did it, the more I liked it. I liked the freedom of making my own schedule and being there for my kids when they needed me. I liked listening to the radio in my car while going from place to place picking up food. Since everything was contactless, there wasn’t much interaction with the public, (no complaints here). I got paid on a daily basis, so the money was always available when I needed it (no biweekly paycheck to wait on).

So, after a while I decided I really didn’t want to go back to my previous job. So, I quit and decided to dive full-time into the gig economy. I could sit here and list all of the apps that are available, but I really just wanted to focus on the apps I use so I could give first-hand advice. So, let’s get into the apps I use on a frequent basis to generate income:

Rover

This is a platform that connects dog owners to dog sitters. To use the platform, first, you must create a profile, and set your services and prices. If somebody has to have their dog watched, it’s possible to get on the Rover app and check all the available dog sitters within their locality.

Basically, what sitters on Rover are doing is developing their own pet sitting business. I began to watch dogs on Rover in 2018 and over time, I have taken care of dozens of different dogs. It has worked out very well, particularly since I have a repeat clientele base I frequently work with, making the whole process of dog sitting predictable and pretty passive.

If you love dogs, Rover is an excellent method of generating additional income doing something you may already want to do.

Uber

I do not need to spend a lot of time explaining how this platform works. To sign up, you just have to pass a background check and own a vehicle that meets the requirements of Uber. The platform is available in almost all cities in the U.S.; therefore, if rideshare is something you’re considering doing, it’s possible to do it with Uber.

Lyft

This is another major rideshare app and Lyft works basically the same as Uber. Lyft is available in virtually every city in the U.S. If you sign up for Uber go ahead and sign up with Lyft.

DoorDash

This is one of the better meal delivery apps and is one I usually earn the most cash with. The base pay for every order will vary, yet I find that it usually pays well once you factor in bonuses and tips. DoorDash shows what you will earn before accepting the order, so it’s possible to use those details to determine if a food delivery makes sense for you.

Uber Eats

Uber Eats was once the weaker food delivery apps; however, I believe they have greatly improved over the last couple of years. The main change is that it’s now possible to see where an order is headed before accepting it. Before, the location of the delivery was hidden until after picking up the food order. It made the platform basically unusable for those who multi-app or who are attempting to strategize deliveries.

Strategies When Doing Food Delivery

· Be Selective. The mistake many new drivers make is accepting all orders they receive. Independent contractors have a right to reject or accept any orders. So, avoid the scarcity mindset and keep in mind that if you reject an order, there always will be more food orders coming.

· Run Multiple Apps. One important thing about being an independent contractor is that it’s possible to work for as many platforms as you want. The best method of increasing your earnings includes simultaneously running multiple apps. Ideally, you should stack orders that go in similar directions. It’ll significantly increase your earnings.

· Think Like A Business. The majority of folks do not know it, but once you are doing deliveries as an independent contractor, you’re acting as a business. Therefore, act like one!

Instacart

This is a grocery delivery app. Orders usually go to a central pool and it’s possible to snag orders that make sense for you. The platform provides specific details before accepting any order, which includes how much an order pays (which includes tip), what items are on the order, the location of the delivery, and the time of the delivery.

Grocery Delivery Strategies

· Combine Multiple Orders at One Time. If you are comfortable doing so, shopping for several orders at one time is an excellent way to double or even triple your income. To do so, you must be organized, and you will want to snag orders that go in similar directions.

· Speed Matters. Grocery deliveries, unlike food deliveries, have the extra variable in that you must shop for a customer’s orders. In turn, speed is critical and is something you can mostly control. The quicker you’re able to shop orders, the more you will earn per hour.

Final Thoughts

We’re living in the golden age of side hustles, in which it now is possible to make extra cash on your own time, in as short or as long a time as you would like. Thanks to these gig economy apps and our phones, virtually anyone can discover a way to make some additional income every month.

Go through the list and think about signing up for some or even all the apps that make sense for your circumstances. You may be surprised by how well the gig economy can work for you!

Like what you read? Send a gift below to support my work! And thank you for reading! Please prayerfully consider a monthly pledge or tip for my work, as 100% of the money for tips and pledges is donated directly to the Houston Food Bank to help those who are less fortunate.

success

About the Creator

Kristen Brady

Kristen is contributor on Medium, Substack, and NewsBreak.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kristen BradyWritten by Kristen Brady

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.