Motivation logo

I'm coming out.

Trigger Warning.

By SyPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Today is a new day.

I have a big secret to tell. The biggest of my life. I have a secret that is the root of my triggers, the root of my depression, the root of my shame. I have a secret that chokes me and eats me alive. At my lows, I am gasping for air, I am drowning in sadness and despair. Hoping the secret will just...go away.

My secret has caused me to self-sabotage. To ruin relationships. To be obsessed with perfection. I'm going to share my secret with you and I ask that you respect it and protect it. I ask that you don't shame me or blame me. It's so hard to just say it out loud because then it becomes real. Like really real. No longer a memory real. No longer brushed off as a bad dream, real. Like, I know it happened, the flashbacks are nauseating, they make me squeeze my eyes closed in hopes the pressure will make the vision go away. The slightest trigger of a memory makes me cringe, spasm like.

And now, everyone knows it my secret, even the people I tried to protect - who I feel I am now hurting. My secret is a secret that's been kept for thousands of years. It's been kept discrete by the shaming, the gas-lighting and the wiping of tears. A secret that is unspoken, and tests time. A secret that made me so hard, when I was cracked open, there was an ocean of tears to be released. A layer of pain to be shed. A secret that while I am ashamed, it has allowed me to survive.

I'm yelling, to the world, "ME TOO."

Me too, my whole life. And I stand in my truth.

Man, I am shaking as I write this. My body feels chills and shakes and anxiety and illness and anger and...... and relief. You see, I have kept this secret since I was in grade-school, when I was innocent. So innocent that I didn't want anyone to get in trouble so I did not tell my mom. So innocent that I did not even understand the concept of what was going on. So innocent that it feels engraved in my roots because it happened way before I even sprouted. So innocent that I was so trusting of so many people. So innocent that it was more than one place, more than one age, more than one person.

So innocent that a friend of mine told me she thought I was Naive, but after hearing my story, she realized I had been "broken."

So here is to finally healing. Here is finally being Free.

You may be asking why am I speaking out after all these years. Your answer is very simple. The silence is eating me alive. I feel like I have not been able to properly heal because I have not been able to cope from years of trauma. I will never share who assaulted me because this is not about them. I just do not want to be angry anymore. I want to forgive them. I want to be at peace with myself and I have come such a long way! I went from feeling like an object, born for sex, to reclaiming my time, my body, my spirit, my soul.

I'm coming out from hiding. I am speaking my truth. And if I am sorry for anything, its keeping it a secret for so long.

Thanks for Reading.

self help
1

About the Creator

Sy

Moments in time, remembered by feelings and captured by words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sy is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.