Motivation logo

I'm a hooker!!!

Creative Therapy

By Kytrena VedderPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
A skirt I made for myself for a cruise!

My name is Kytrena. I am a mother to an 8-year-old son. I work in Social Services. In my spare time, I am a hooker. By hooker, I mean I participate in the yarn arts. I crochet, I knit (beginners - I only know 2 stitches), I loom, I'm learning to knook and I am also learning how to make crafts out of pom poms. I am an accomplished yarn collector, I have well over 500 skeins of yarn and always looking for new yarn to purchase. Additionally, I have a large collection of handcrafted wooden crochet hooks.

I have now been crocheting for close to 6 years. I started crocheting in order to help me cope with the tragedy of losing my brother who served in the military for 21 years. My brother and I were remarkably close and his sudden death; his suicide really derailed my life. I had a young son who was only 18 months old, and I could barely focus on him because of the depression I felt about my brother. About 6 months after my brothers’ death, I went to a TAPS (Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors) convention with people who had all lost someone the same way I did. That week we went to classes to get in touch with our grief and to help us to find some comfort in the loved ones who had left us. Of all the classes and the speeches that week, the thing that stuck with me the most; happened one late night I was walking on the beach and ran into two of the cutest elderly ladies I had ever encountered! They were doing things with their hands, and they had yarn in them. I understood the basics of what crochet and knit was, but to hear these two ladies bicker playfully back and forth with each other over which one’s art was more practical: Crochet or Knitting. We stayed up all night long and discussed life things, and watched the sun rise in the morning! Both ladies showed me how to do their yarn art and they sent me off with knitting needles, crochet hooks and a few jumbo skeins of yarn. When I returned home, I taught myself how to crochet and knit from YouTube and some craft classes online mainly, with minimal hands-on instruction other than what the ladies had taught me.

I started out slow making a few scarfs and dishtowels. Eventually I moved up to blankets so that I could practice certain stitches on a larger scale. Now I can crochet just about anything ranging from Amigurumi to clothing and just about anything in-between. I started to buy books and magazines about crocheting. I absorbed all information about crocheting and yarn that I could in a short amount of time. I started out getting 3 books with different stitches in it to start off my collection, however I now have more than 200 books on different techniques, patterns and stitches. As I continue to perfect my craft, I hope to one day eventually have my own show where I can discuss yarn related topics and share my love of the yarn arts with the public.

I have a favorite brand of yarn which spun by a woman in Germany. We started off as friends and she used to make cakes of yarn as a hobby but as the years progressed; I have watched this woman’s dream come true as she started off with her business in a small section of her home and now has a budding storefront with thousands of customers and an employee to help her make cakes! Much of the yarn I have is from her. I also have yarn made from other people which is hand dyed and custom made. Every crocheter or knitter has a favorite yarn dealer.

There is a saying that you are not a true crocheter or knitter if you do not have a pair of favorite scissors, that are to be used for only yarn cutting. Unfortunately, when you have a child and boyfriend who are just completely hardheaded, paper and kitchen products are cut with your favorite pair of scissors causing a complete almost toddler like meltdown from me, the 42-year-old author. Before you judge me and say I am being overdramatic, lets think about the ramifications of using yarn scissors to cut open things that are CLEARLY not yarn. If yarn scissors are used to cut paper, paper makes the blades dull and the blades should be sharp enough to cut through the fibers of your product flawlessly which makes for a nice even cut to the delicate fiber. However, if yarn scissors are used to cut open kitchen products, it can leave stains and things to get on the yarn, which can be devastating as some projects can have well over 100 working hours with them!

I have invested a small fortune in custom made wooden hooks, hand crafted in the United Kingdom. The man who makes the hooks knows me on a first name basis. I love the different varieties of hooks that he offers, and I am always excited to find out what his next project is when it comes to making new hooks.

I am very thankful to have found a way to creatively and effectively express my grief through the beautiful art of crocheting. Many experts believe that crocheting and knitting keeps the mind young. Additionally, crocheting and knitting have been proven to reduce symptoms and effects of depression, anxiety and some manias. Many mental institutions and rehabs are implementing yarn arts into their sessions because of the beneficial effects. Crocheting wound up being the silver lining in what is one of the worst things ever to have happened to me so far in my 42 years on this earth and I have seen some terrible things. Crocheting is the trusty best friend I needed in my life. Crochet has been there with me through the breakup of my long-time boyfriend, the care leading up to and the death of my father, the betrayal of two longtime friends and various issues at work. Crochet is always there to listen, and crochet is always there to comfort me in times of need. I always keep a project with me, no matter what in case I have a few spare moments to myself. For me, the answer is almost always I would rather be crocheting. My son has a budding social life which sometimes has me sitting outside of school functions for an hour or two because I do not want to go home and get comfortable to come out to get him and what would be a better time to crochet? In my humble opinion, I love the feeling I get when I hold a finished project in my hand, and it gives you such a sense of pride that is so much more satisfying than reaching level 50 in Candy Crush. Crocheting allows you to feel productive while binge watching your favorite tv show on Netflix, I cannot tell you how many times I have watched an entire season of a show while working on a project.

Crochet is so much more than a hobby; it is a lifestyle. I enjoy learning about fibers and different types of wools. I can be found at local fiber festivals. One day I hope to attend a crochet vacation which is a thing, but the price can sometimes be a little steep. I like to immerse myself in the art of learning all there is to know about things related to crochet as well as the actual art of crochet. I look forward to expanding my knowledge even more, while I know how to knit, I would like to learn more knit stitches to be able to complete a knitting pattern as I do with crocheting. Crocheting has helped to awaken a creative side of me that I never realized I had and I hope in broaden my horizons creatively will further awaken other aspects of my life. Deep down inside I know I am supposed to do something amazing with this creative side although I am not sure exactly what I am supposed to do so until the answer becomes clearer, I will continue to learn and sharpen my skills.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Kytrena Vedder

42 year old with a 9 year old. He keeps me on my feet, always striving to be better from one day until the next. He is my hero!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.