Motivation logo

I Have An Issue Asking For Help & Here Is Why

And No, It's Not Because I Am An Asshole

By Frederick EmersonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
I Have An Issue Asking For Help & Here Is Why
Photo by J W on Unsplash

I HATE ASKING FOR OR NEEDING HELP!

Like, for real!

If I were out in the middle of an ocean and there was a liferaft full of people reaching out to save me 5 feet in front of me and an island 500 ft away from me — I’d probably swim to the island then reach out to them to SAVE ME.

I…HATE NEEDING HELP.

It is such a disgusting feeling, TO ME, to ask for help.

And one may say, “that is so arrogant of you to think you can do everything by yourself.”

Or…

Everybody needs help; it’s not a sign of weakness to ask for help.”

Yes!

Yes, it is.

If you were GOOD ENOUGH on your own, you would not NEED to ask for help or take the help.

And how arrogant of anyone to expect everyone around them to just do things for them.

NO ONE OWES YOU A DAMN THING and NO ONE OWES ME A DAMN THING.

I Have An Issue Asking For Help & Here Is Why: And No, It's Not Because I Am An Asshole

By Matthew Waring on Unsplash

If people worked half as hard to get others to “help” them lose weight, start that business, get that person to like them — and just took that onus on their OWN DAMN SHOULDERS people would be a hell of a lot better in many areas of life.

It is so easy to just receive help.

It takes no effort to have someone GIVE YOU SOMETHING FOR NOTHING.

I guess that is why so many people love “help.”

Help” is just sugar-coating for saying, “I AM INADEQUATE.”

Help to ME, and how I see it is very different from others see it.

I think most people are 1000%, okay having others pick them up when they fall.

Hell, most people expect others to simply catch them before they fall.

Because why the hell watch your own step or learn how to pick yourself up.

And to me, THIS is arrogant and selfish.

Why can't people like this pick themselves up?

Why do they think they have a right from others people's lives to demand of them their time and energy?

And I am the arrogant one?

Help to me is a CRUTCH that keeps people weak and dependant on exterior forces (Many people's locus of control is exterior than interior).

A great example is the government and how they “help” those poor folks who can’t get a job or have too many kids and no fathers.

This government assistance is keeping people dependant on the state and dependant on a certain narrative.

Help is not always altruistic; as a matter of fact, help is very much a tool to keep people weak.

As mentioned, why the hell pick yourself up when you fall when you are always going to have papa’s government of sky daddy god, pick you up.

How I view help is that it is not all that good.

When someone helps me, what it translates to me is a person saying, “You are not good enough, so let me show you the way, you poor simpleton. Fall under my wing so that I can keep you WEAK…umm…safe.”

This may be an exaggeration (to an extent), but I view someone helping me, especially when I HAVE NOT ASKED, as a sign that you think so low of me that I need YOUR HELP.

Whose the arrogant a**wipe?

I want you to really thik about that for a second.

No we cannot do everything by ourselves. That is true.

But DAMN IT.

There are some things you have to do by yourself.

A person who tries to do things for themselves, especially a guy, a MAN, should be applauded, not hated.

And having some loser playing altruist who looks at others and says to themselves, “that person needs MY HELP,” is an ASSW*PE!

Am I reaching a bit too far?

Perhaps, but still, I HATE ASKING OR NEEDING HELP!

self help
1

About the Creator

Frederick Emerson

I am Frederick Emerson, a prolific blogger with a decade of experience in the digital sphere. Through my thought-provoking content, I have captivated readers and sparked engaging conversations on a wide range of topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.