Motivation logo

Message From A Real Black Man

I Am Greater Than Any Obstacle That Is In My Way

By Frederick EmersonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Message From A Real Black Man
Photo by Mubarak Showole on Unsplash

It matters not how strait the gate,

How charged with punishments the scroll,

I am the master of my fate

I am the captain of my….”

I am a black MAN, and I emphasize and capitalize the word and title “MAN” and keep the word “black” lower case because I AM A MAN, FIRST, and FOREMOST.

I care NOT how others see me or perceive me, and I write this not to get acceptance from others but to inspire those who may very well have forgotten WHAT & WHO THEY ARE.

In life, you will always have those who think they know more about your life than you know about your own damn life.

They will tell you how much of a victim you are. They will tell you how hard you have it. They will tell you how many people are against you.

They will tell you what you can and cannot do.

They will tell you what you are….if you let them.

Life, by use of their proxies, human beings will throw obstacles your way.

On the path of discovering who you are or just trying to “live,” you will always come across those people who will undoubtedly get in your way.

These people will not know why they do the things they do, or they will do things just because everyone else is doing them.

Either way, people will get in your way.

But remember this always…WE ARE MEN.

AND MEN OVERCOME OBSTACLES.

Because that is just what we do.

This is not bravado.

This is not “big dick” energy (well, it is to an extent).

This is not being a douche or a dick.

This is being CONVICTED in who I am.

This is being RESOLUTE in what I am.

This is me being a FUCKING MAN!

Message From A Real Black Man: I Am Greater Than Any Obstacle That Is In My Way

By Dorrell Tibbs on Unsplash

I had a fascinating conversation with some close people of mines, and we were talking about the “white privilege” and how dangerous America is for black folks.

And I will be honest, NOTHING IRKS me more than FUCKING TELLING ME; I am a victim and that my life is in danger simply on the premise that I am a black man.

No, it fucking isn’t.

Life, unto itself, is dangerous as hell.

JEEZUS FUCKING CHRIST.

How many diseases are there? How many natural disasters happen a year? How many freak accidents happen?

Dangerous?

LIFE IS FUCKING DANGEROUS! AND FOR EVERYONE!

All of us can end up dead by any strange circumstance that comes our way.

There is no safety mode for this game of life.

I can end up dead today by getting struck by lightning.

I could end up dead by getting struck by a car.

I could end up dead today by “idiocy” that manifests itself in the form of a white man.

Would that be racist?

Possibly.

Or it could be a plethora of other things.

Whatever the reason, life is dangerous.

And because of this, MEN have been given the trait of being courageous and have the ability to face the many dangers of life.

Men can overcome their fears and do things that life never thought could be possible.

This is what it is to be a MAN.

And I say this…

I care NOT how many people hate black people.

I care NOT how many people get in my way.

I care NOT how many people try to make my life as hard as possible.

I don’t care because any obstacle thrown my way WILL be overcome.

Why?

Because I am a MAN!

I finish with this poem that I believe all MEN of ALL races should memorize, which is the “Invictus” poem.

Out of the night that covers me

Black as the pit from pole to pole,

I thank whatever gods may be

For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance,

I have not winced nor cried aloud.

Under the bludgeonings of chance

My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears

Looms but the Horror of the shade,

And yet the menace of the years

Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,

How charged with punishments the scroll,

I am the master of my fate

I am the captain of my soul.

When life starts throwing hard times your way, don’t say, “Why me?”

Say, “Try me, BITCH!”

I/WE ARE MEN!

self help
Like

About the Creator

Frederick Emerson

I am Frederick Emerson, a prolific blogger with a decade of experience in the digital sphere. Through my thought-provoking content, I have captivated readers and sparked engaging conversations on a wide range of topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.