Motivation logo

I had no purpose

but you are beautiful

By Jennifer Lorraine - Bloch McGeePublished 8 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - September 2023
31
I had no purpose
Photo by Kirill Tonkikh on Unsplash

~AUTHOR'S NOTE: I did not write this piece with the intention of being included in any contest or category...I simply, truly felt compelled to share this message. SO, I apologize if it does not meet appropriate guidelines but I did categorize it to the best of my "feeling" at the time! Finally, there may be misspellings, punctuation errors and more (which I usually CRINGE HEAVILY at) but this was written from the heart, so none of that matters...

AND...if you don't see someone hugging a tree in the picture above? You won't understand me

***

I am moved....

I am moved by the holy spirit, I am moved by my higher self...

I am moved to share this message.

I HOPE that doesn't sound too cheesy...

But honestly? It is how I felt the moment I began to write this. I came to the Vocal community...mmm...the memory fails me, but perhaps 6 months ago, to "find myself again".

I am a writer with a message.

I got pulled away, unexpectedly. I was "dismissed" from a job I had put my heart and soul into...

I was lost. My confidence... nonexistent.

I was only lucky, in ONE thing: I had been coming back to my "authentic self" for 8 months prior to this life-altering episode. So...

...it has only taken me 4 months to go from painfully lost...to absolute clarity (although I am going to tell you that might just be the "spirit" talking because I think as humans we are meant to be fractured, which means "whole" is always in a state of flux, AND...I have SEVERE anxiety)

So, I share this message because if I can do it - find my confidence (and then some holy roller!) -,

...you can too.

I defined myself today with a power statement (it sounds pompous I know) BUT I found my TRUE authentic self...and I think, if I wanted, I could help others do this, but...

THAT is not the point of this message, so here is my Power Statement (who wouldn't want to HIRE me, seriously?):

~I am an empathetic leader, with a tenacious desire to build spaces where success is shared and universal.

~I am an authentic individual driven to be in alignment with my values so that I can mentor others to do the same.

~I am a champion of equity, with a genuine concern for the human element. I strive to understand perspectives and listen with purpose in the hope that I can elevate voices for global harmony.

~And, finally, I have a gift for meeting people at their level of experience, understanding, and emotional readiness. I build bridges...for a better tomorrow (cheesy, I know!, I will fix it later).

Can you believe I made "professional" writing sound SO good? I think if everyone's cover letters TRULY (the professional "work" world is not ready for the TRUTH) looked like this...

WOW...ever wanted a peek at a soul? You're welcome.

I am also goofy and clever

So what is THE MESSAGE?

There is NOTHING wrong with being exactly who you are. We still have to "live" in a way that is harmonious with others, but BE YOUR authentic self.

Also,

...don't EVER let someone tell you that you can't...

because you can,

and you will.

God bless and all the best.

healing
31

About the Creator

Jennifer Lorraine - Bloch McGee

*Imagination is the plaything of fairies. Without imagination we are doomed*

My heart and soul goes into my writing. If I don't bleed a little, I haven't done it right.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • 3 vex6 months ago

    I learned a lot from your blog, and you can learn more about older video games to have more engaging experiences. I look forward to playing with you in the past! https://wordwipegame.net

  • Justine Crowley6 months ago

    Excellent. Affirmations are like power statements. They do need conviction, as well as a lot of positive energy and intent behind them. By you keeping it real, you won top story. Well done.

  • Antoinette L Brey7 months ago

    good job, congrats on top story

  • There should always be purpose of life life without purpose seems dull and boring

  • Test8 months ago

    Powerful piece! Great work!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    This feels like a motivational speech and a mic drop moment all rolled into one! This is just awesome...I love how honest, and heartfelt it is and how positive it is! Thank you for publishing this, Jennifer! Congrats too on Top Story!

  • Macy Dennis8 months ago

    Wonderful article

  • Lovely powerful words and glad that you came through this

  • Very good

  • Tressa Rose8 months ago

    Sounds like we are very similar kind of people with the same kind of goals! Congrats on top story!

  • Test8 months ago

    I love this message! So empowering! Congratulations on Top Stoy! 🤍

  • 💕 💯📝👌🎉😉💖✌️Congratulations on Your Amazing Top Story❗❗

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work! Wow!

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    That was really deep and moving, thank you so much for sharing and I'm happy you've found yourself :)

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    I love how you created these statements and are living in your authentic spirit! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.