Poets logo

Baling Hay

What I didn't know then

By Jennifer Lorraine - Bloch McGeePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Sensational Challenge
8
Baling Hay
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

A grunt and heave,

and it sets the load,

a fine row.

Midwest cotton,

dirty yellow,

alfalfa scented,

hands protected.

White legs toasty,

sweltering summer heat.

//

Suffused stems,

shallow scraping,

stings on contact -

Mercurochrome later.

Lifting bales

is an art.

Bending again,

muscles tighten,

hoist up,

motion continues

'til sundown.

//

Sweat perfume,

dripping hair,

suction back tee.

Candy cane shoulders,

filth smatters

forehead to ankle.

Last to shower

gentle fountain,

washing clean.

Shiver of shock,

damp cool.

Sheer fabric,

drops in place,

skin cradled.

//

Inviting plates

of hearty food,

steam rising.

End of day.

Time to play.

Star Trek calling

from the screen.

Night-time

daydreaming,

eyes droop.

//

Crisp sheets cradle,

sighs of fulfillment,

gentle breeze,

green cut scent.

Crickets chirp,

bugs flit,

air -

sings, near silent.

Occasional glimpse

of traveling lights,

silhouette of distant

Mainstreet.

//

Tiptoe outside,

supine on spongy grass,

galaxy, Milky Way, overhead.

Path of stars,

an infinite, unfathomable crush.

Better to envision

an endless city,

than be eaten by one.

**This author would argue that there are more than five senses ;) **

performance poetry
8

About the Creator

Jennifer Lorraine - Bloch McGee

*Imagination is the plaything of fairies. Without imagination we are doomed*

My heart and soul goes into my writing. If I don't bleed a little, I haven't done it right.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 2 months ago

    This broke me; every word fell so perfectly into place!

  • Aphotic11 months ago

    I felt like I was there, wonderful descriptions. I would also argue there are more than five senses😉

  • Ahna Lewis11 months ago

    Congratulations, Jennifer! This was fantastic. It brought back so many memories for me of my grandparents' farm in Kansas. I could experience each moment as I read each stanza!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Nicely done. Congrats.

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    That is how you nail a brief 😁😎 And I agree with you - there are far more than five!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Oh my gosh, I can feel every bit of this!!! Absolutely gorgeous descriptions! I am itchy all over from the hay scratches now and I haven’t touched hay in almost a decade 🤣😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.