Poets logo

Light From the Barn

Lessons from My Ancestors

By Jennifer Lorraine - Bloch McGeePublished about a year ago 1 min read
11
Light From the Barn
Photo by Hert Niks on Unsplash

The light is a break

I stand in for comfort, barely parted

from the darkness beyond.

I remain tethered, out of fear, for what waits

in the darkness.

Young for heavy labor, I absorb scents and sounds:

crickets chirping,

cats growling after a rustled mouse,

hens cackling as they settle into straw-stuffed nesting hollows.

Startled by a distant yowl, I retreat toward the barn's aperture.

Inside the barn, Dad milks and feeds the cattle amid sharp, earthy alfalfa

and burbling water troughs.

Moths sing to enter that golden patch,

mesmerized by the precipice of light.

In the darkness, moon stoked shadows linger.

The radience surrounds my tiny form,

a superb height

where home is recognized by footprints

hard in the earth.

I stand in the glow from the barn

to witness my passage.

Wheel of life, order and balance, built on the premise

that light within is reflected outward.

I was safe in the cycle of seasons.

Wheat fields full of golden antennae,

ripe for harvest. Rocks shifting for next year's picking.

Petals melting into moss, like earth

blends with sky.

A history exists in that light

which never changes, only shifts a little

in the turning.

I no longer fear the darkness. I mold it,

using rainbow clay. Nurture it

to build brigdes.

inspirational
11

About the Creator

Jennifer Lorraine - Bloch McGee

*Imagination is the plaything of fairies. Without imagination we are doomed*

My heart and soul goes into my writing. If I don't bleed a little, I haven't done it right.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Jennifer Lorraine - Bloch McGee (Author)9 months ago

    I know it is totally cheesy to comment on your own poem but I just read this out loud and I gave myself goose bumps. I guess I just want to say I am proud of myself for how hard I worked on this poem...I truly got my heart, my soul, my love, my nostalgia, my strength...well you get the point...I packed it in their :D

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    There's a piece of your heart in this that helps it glow. Beautiful poem!

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    What great imagery ❤️❤️🥵

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    What a gorgeous and immersive experience this was to read. Stunning poem! Congrats on your placement in the challenge!!! 💫

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨10 months ago

    This poem fit perfectly on my list this week, Jennifer ✨🥰 https://vocal.media/writers/lust-for-words-3

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨10 months ago

    Wheel of life, order and balance, built on the premise that light within is reflected outward. I read this on repeat ❤️✨ This is superb x

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This has soooo many beautiful lines!! This one is my favorite though- “In the darkness, moon stoked shadows linger.” It feels like it could be the title of a whole book of poetry to me! 🥰

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    You definitely have a gift for poetry! Loved the incredible imagery and sensory details! You've got some fantastic lines--"where home is recognized by footprints / hard in the earth" and "I no longer fear the darkness. I mold it, / using rainbow clay." I love how much your work makes me think and seek to unravel its meaning!

  • Darby S. Fisherabout a year ago

    Lovely! I adore the vocabulary you used.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.