Motivation logo

Humble beginnings

Self reflection

By Enoch WPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
My very first school

This is my first school.

We had no alarm clocks! We had to rely on roosters to wake us up..and well..rooster can go on can make mistakes too! What woke us up was the consequences of being late. I grew up during the time when capital punishment was encouraged. Where teacher brandished sticks and whips to get their point across. Woe unto anyone who made a mistake arriving late to school!

We would get dressed quickly in the dark as we had no electricity, youhad to prep your uniform the night before. If we were lucky, there'd be some tea to drink before we ran off. 5 kilometers to school, 5 kilometers back!

This is where my journey began, where I learned to read,write and count.

I was once one of those kids by the gate!

When I look back, I can't help but be in awe of how tremendous my journey has been! I have read books,traveled the world and seen wonders these kids couldn't possibly even imagine! I have made some amazing friends along the way, some of whom I consider family.

Yet most of those kids are not as fortunate as I was and I see that now.

I hope to one day be able to make a difference to some of their lives! To give back...because while I have changed, the school still remains exactly as it was! The same mud walls, broken desks and chalk boards so worn and torn...but students still congregate in the hundreds because they yearn to learn more about this world of ours. They yearn to find their place, to learn about what they can do to contribute to society and provide for their families! Yet despite the conditions they face, they are still expected to take the sameFinal exam as the kids in the city with laptops and projectors. My dream is to start an organization that can bridge this divide or at least even out the odds.

One day I hope to have the means to make a difference. To try and improve the conditions of this place that gave me my first education!

An education is one of the most important thing we are afforded in life; and when it comes to recieving a good education in a safe and comfortable environment, no child should be without that!

I am no stranger to knowing the differences in educational systems internationally; and have first hand experience in many different establishments, all with different resources and means.

All schools have one goal; to educate our youth and to support them on a journey to becoming productive members of society! We have a chance to make this happen!

I have made a conscious effort to go back and help my former school which looks even worse than it did 25 years ago. Doors are missing in some classes, windows, desks are broken, no wate, appalling pit latrines, etc.

The worst is the lack of supplies. Due to COVID,  parents are finding themselves with no money to purchase school supplies!

I have started a drive for back packs, pens, and note books. The goal is to put together packages for 500 students. These kids currently use plastic bags to carry their books to school so even the environment will benefit from this initiative.

I realized that rather than sitting there waiting for someone to right this obvious wrongand as a former student from this school, I can truly make a difference no matter how small! I hope to inspire other like minded individuals to go out there and make a difference in their community and the world at large. I believe that making a difference in the lives of childrenat at this evel will have a lasting effect for years to come both on the students, teachers, the institution and community as a whole! Having more supplies and ample space to truly nurture and educate our children is extremelyimportant.

My bigger dream is to see humanity pool resources and make one big impact that will be remembered for all time! Instead of fighting one another, I hope we fight the hatred between us and find common ground, because if we have learned anything from our history, it's that hate begets hate and love conquers all.

I want to share this poem I wrote.It's called 'When you dare to dream!'

"To some, life is a sum of decisions made both good and bad. They live in their memories, where they stood and what they had.

To others, life is a sum of moments both painful and blissful. They remember when they felt beautiful but they also remember when they felt pitiful.

Some just live everyday doing everything they can to make it last. They work soo hard to hold on to the past.They live everyday like it's their very last, enjoying every experience and having a blast.

Some live for just one moment, one blink and they are gone. They live right on the brink, when all is said and done They shine so brightly and then they are gone! Leaving us with nothing but memories, living us alone!

I live and give, pray and receive!

I ight with all my might to keep my light! For with darkness comes despair, thats impossible to repair.

Unless you dare to dream!

To rise above the cream!

To soar across the stream!

......Unless you dare to dream!"

Thanks for reading!

Yours truly...Enoch

goals
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.