The Swamp logo

Race Against Racism

Injustice

By Enoch WPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
From top left Australia, England, New Zealand, France and Kenya. All brothers sharing a meal before representing Canada!

We have lived long enough to recognize that we are all different yet the same. Our differences can be physical, cultural, religious or even as simple as our upbringing.

Our similarities are that in the end we are born, we fight to make a living and protect those dear to us, we love, we feel pain and eventually we die. None of us are exempt from these rules that life has set for us. So why do some of us feel like we are superior to others? Does wealth and abundance equate superiority? Every single person has their strengths and their weaknesses. A CEO might be the most competent person chosen to run a company, but there are going to be tasks in the company, critical and important tasks that he/she may not even have a clue about. Every member of the company has their roles, and while some roles are critical, none is greater than the sum of all the parts combined together. Companies have a lot of moving parts but they are nowhere near as complex as a country or even a race.

The audacity to go to a different continent, take its residents and bring them to your country as slaves, have them work and build a beautiful country, then sideline them and treat them as less once you have everything you need! The audacity to believe that one race is better than another race? To lump everyone from that race in one pile perhaps based on an experience you had with one member from that race! Are we really that shallow? We might as well go back to the caveman days when we were scared and hunted rather than be beings who climbed to the top of the food chain using logic and reason as our main weapons. Where is that logic now and what reasons do we have for our hate? We only have one world, yet we would rather destroy it fighting each other than find common ground?!

I have heard every version out there. Why should we pay for our forefathers mistakes? Why should we care about racism? Black people are only doing it for attention...are they? All of us who have suffered an unjust act in our lifetime know just how horrible it feels. It might be something you worked hard for but then it was given to someone else. You may have been blamed for something you didn't do and had to pay the price. Imagine that anger, that hurt, that betrayal you felt! Now imagine living with it your whole life with it! That is what black people face. Our ancestors were forced to come here. They helped build this nation, so why shouldn't we have the same rights and freedom? Why do we have to constantly live with fear and humiliation? What did we do to deserve it? Who is going to care enough to help us put an end to it so we can start healing? Isn't it about time?

I once worked in a place where almost every day I get told to go pick cotton! What's sad is that I got used to it, I was told I needed to have thick skin, it's just the nature of the job! Why are we promoting tolerance for such behavior? Why is my employer who is a multi billionaire fine with the fact that I faced this behavior! With all the resources they could have supported me but they did nothing! Does that mean they supported the behavior or maybe I just wasn't important enough? Every day I went home beaten and broken, then in the morning, I gathered the remaining pieces and went back yet again because I had no choice, I had to make a living somehow! I did this for 10 years and have more scars than I can count. What do I have to show for it?

I got called a 'nigger' a lot as well. Was that supposed to hurt me? If being a nigger means I am like my ancestors who withstood so much suffering and hardship then I accept. If being a nigger means that despite being beaten, tortured, raped, I still got up and kept going because I knew I had to do it for the survival of future generations then I accept! I accept because I am in awe of the resilience my people showed! It's because of their suffering that we can now hold our heads up high!

I often got told to go back to my country. Have you been to my country? To me, my country of birth is a beautiful place. Despite poverty, there is always laughter. Despite hardship, people say what they mean. So yes, it doesn't offend me to be told to go back to my country. Yet Canada is also my country! Canada also took me in and gave me a chance to make something of myself. Who are you to claim it's not my country? Let's ask the real indigenous people of Canada if it's yours? I can't speak about all black people, but these are my experiences! It's true that I didn't experience slavery, but I am still reminded that I am less every day.

Injustice is defined as violation of right or of the rights of another. It's truly sad that I have to remind myself that I share the same rights as everyone else yet my experiences beg to differ! Huge companies and Corporations are now claiming they support Black Lives yet they still have employees committing racial discrimination. Why do job applications need to know if am White, black or otherwise? Is it so you can hire a few black people in order to claim that your company is diverse? If you want to show you care, train your staff to be inclusive, to have zero tolerance for hate and bigotism. Create a safe zone where your staff can feel comfortable and respected. Support your staff when they report discrimination and utilize your vast resources to fight for them! It's easy to assume that you understand our plight. It's easy enough to post on your Corporate websites, Twitter, LinkedIn and Facebook that you support us. We appreciate that, but ask yourselves, Is that all that you are capable of doing?!

I would love to see our black youth feel safe enough not to run and join gangs as a way to protect themselves! I would love for them to know that they have just as much to offer as everyone else! They are our future, so please stop killing them! Yes they had a gun, did you ask why? Can you honestly say you offered them shelter and they walked away to opted to get a gun? If yes, have you asked them why?

These are young kings with souls of warriors long past. Most just want to be acknowledged! With our resources, let's find a way to help them back unto the right path. Lets even go further and pave the way for future generations! It's our duty as their elders regardless of race, otherwise we have no right to call ourselves a community! Gunning them just makes them martyrs, makes more join the cause! What is the definition of insanity? If you know the answer to that then tell me who is insane?

It's time for a new strategy! We have the tools and resources in place!

Can our generation be remembered for something greater or will we only be remembered for COVID and toilet paper?

When it's all said and done, can we truly say we gave it our best shot?!

controversies
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.