Motivation logo

How Writing Down Helps Me??

This is an article where I am explaining how writing things down can help all of us and how it helps me.

By Vanshika DhawanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
5

We all have heard from our friends that they write down when they are sad, when they feels like crying or even after crying they write down and it helps to lighten up the weight of our heart.

But have you tried it or you just think that I will write next time?

Though for me it has been 2 years I started writing down every day about whatever I wish , even today I started this article because I was unhappy.

We all have some days when we feel down, when we feel that life is not going anywhere, when we don't know what to do and of course there are some days when we are happy but writing down should never stop especially in tough times.

But then the question arises that I don't like to write, ok this was me too 2 years ago.

I used to hate writing so writing daily was never a part of my day but then one day I faced criticism and I cried so much that day then my mom gave a pen and paper to write, "crying would not help much instead write down" she said.

I hesitated first but then I said "whatever".

I was already in a very bad mood so I thought writing down will not be a big deal when I can face those harsh words.

As I started writing down I realized that I can pen down my feelings in my heart into words and that was shocking for a girl that used to hate writing once. I wrote down everything that how the incident started and how I ended up being hurt but while putting the full stop at the end I knew that I was wrong. Writing your feelings down helps you to come back to your senses. I noticed that before I started writing I felt suffocated inside but then I felt that when I was close to the end, I felt like that people's criticism which is out of their own self doubt doesn't affect me anymore. This is the power of a pen and paper. It made me regain my strength and confidence which people tried to break.

once you started writing down even a bit it will become your hobby, your daily routine like it is mine. I don't have a fix time to write, I write mostly when I am sad not always when I am satisfied.

You may think will it help you if it helped me?

Certainly yes, it will maybe better than me.

Especially if you suffer from stress, anxiety, depression then keeping a diary will help me so much. It will help you to improve your mental health and you will learn how to control your emotions.

Sometimes we are sad but we don't know why we are sad, the reason of our sadness is sometime unknown but writing down helps you to reach the core of disturbed mind and heart. It helps you to identify what disturbs you.

You will actually have a better understanding and vision of your situation if you pen down everything.

we all are going through some or the other inner conflicts, it will help you to shut them down and find peace.

Writing down your feelings help you to understand yourself better. There are certain qualities which you don't know about yourself but when you start writing somewhere or the other where you will notice that you write down those on paper and then you will get to know them,

writing down is also a stress booster and this is one of the top reason why I write and why I want all of you to start writing. There are days when there is a rush of stressful thoughts about what to do, what you want to do and then their are expectations to meet and moreover then you don't want to get out of the bed then writing down all those thoughts will help you to get up and work.

Some people also write down about goals, maybe short term or long term as a reminder, then some people also make to-do list of each day to remain motivated.

Writing down helps you to change your thoughts which will eventually change your life.

keeping a journal can change your life. It will help you connect with your childlike self. It will help you to make peace with loneliness.

Writing down is difficult to start but it can change you, your personality and your point of view on how you perceive things.

Writing down everything give rise to new ideas which may surprise you, you may think "Ohh, I never knew this that I can do this", just like I never knew that I can also write but soon after I started writing my journal, I knew I want to write more and publish them so even you can do.

Try it by yourself.

Good luck.

self help
5

About the Creator

Vanshika Dhawan

Words directly from my heart.

Stories directly from my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.