Motivation logo

How to make top story on Vocal

Even though I haven't yet

By Mary DriverPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
6

I've been on Vocal for a few months now. I have poured my heart and soul into my poems and writing challenges. I have not been top story, (and that's not the reason I write), but I have a really good feeling this submission is the one to make it. *crossah da fingahs*

Since readers seem to like lists, here is a list which explains how I got to be top story, even though I have never been in the top stories, and I don't know if this article is actually going to be a top story...pretty meta, right?! I promise you...I'm not psychic!

The essence of my article is this...

"if you want it, act like you already have it"...

...here's how:

1.) Put it out in the universe - Some call it the "Law of Attraction". Other's just call it luck, or coincidence, (they're wrong by the way, lol). You know what I call it? "doin' the damn thang", so I am literally writing this for the main reason that I want to be top story, just to see what it feels like. I literally titled this story, "How to make top story on vocal", so let's see what happens! If I believe I will achieve!

2.) Write a title that catches readers - People have a "what's in it for me?" mentality. Why would I want to read a story about how to train a new kitty cat if I'm allergic to them and will never have one of my own. Well, I may read it for fun, but the chances are slim. I'm sure a lot of writers on Vocal want to know how to be top story...chances are you are one of them and clicked this to read.

3.) Be uniquely you - Sounds cliche right? I promise you I'm not a basic b*tch! I really don't talk like this often, or have "live...laugh...love" painted on a small pallet on my kitchen wall, but I do stay true to myself and try to live authentically. I don't care what people think about this article. Some may hate it, some may bock at it, some may be obsessed with it, but guess what? I WROTE IT and i'm proud of myself. Don't be jealous you didn't think of it first ;)

4.) Show off - What is your greatest skill? Are you funny? Intelligent? Can you cite your dang sources like a champ? SHOW OFF YOUR SKILLS because if you don't use what ya Mama gave ya, what's the point? Stop hiding that beautiful skin, that hair, that smile, those life experiences, that humor, that kindness...we need to share with each other, otherwise, what's the point of Vocal?

5.) Use your OWN PICTURE - I get it...I get it...sometimes people don't have a picture that they want to use, nor a picture that actually fits the story they are writing, but I challenge you to try. Is it grainy? GOOD! Are you having a bad hair day? AWESOME. Is your fat roll hanging over your jeans and you think it's unflattering? EVEN BETTER! We are real people, being vulnerable, sharing real stories in this community. The "realer" you get, the better.

And finally....

6.) Make sure it's 600 words - The only reason I say this is because I tried to submit a story and it wasn't 600 words, so you can't get top story if your actual story doesn't get approved. Pretty genius, right?

I hope you enjoyed this, even if it didn't make top. I'll probably emotionally eat something if I didn't, like a whole 16" pizza with extra cheese, but i'm sure i'll write about that too.

*follow me for more tips and tricks*

FYI: I just copy and pasted this into Microsoft Word to see how many words I have, but I haven't reached the 600 word mark, so I have to keep writing. Leave it to me to not make a 7th tip on my list. Let me check again if it's 600 words. YUP! Ok, now i'm done. :)

Mary Driver

2021

how to
6

About the Creator

Mary Driver

Passionate, empathetic, quirky. I write and sing music inspired by surviving addiction. I love Bob Seger & Tupac. I appreciate authenticity & kindness. I am intense. My Dad died from Alzheimer's, and it changed my heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.