Motivation logo

How to Keep Going When Doubts and Fears are Holding You Back

"If you hear a voice within you saying you can't paint, then definitely paint and that voice will be muted." ~ Vincent Van Gogh

By Bishnu BhandariPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
How to Keep Going When Doubts and Fears are Holding You Back
Photo by Aarón Blanco Tejedor on Unsplash

"If you hear a voice within you saying you can't paint, then definitely paint and that voice will be muted." ~ Vincent Van Gogh

I don’t think there’s anything more liberating.

At least I have never seen this point in my life.

I'm sure it has happened to some of you. Probably more times than you can count.

The freedom I am talking about here is the time when you do something that a certain part of your mind would not believe is possible.

Interestingly, the word happiness comes from the Greek word ekastis, meaning “to get out of without.”

And when you are able to overcome your doubts and fears, it can be a great joy.

But the process of getting there is not without mixed emotions. You may have a form of Stockholm syndrome with parts of your brain that are holding you back. This doubt and fear is yours; they have been whispering to you in your ears, and it is difficult to stop them.

Last year I went through a period of intense influence over my doubts and fears. I was fixing some health problems and had just started a Masters degree, all this time working full time.

I soon got tired and began to fear that I had overused. This was compounded by the many obstacles I faced in my work. The introduction of the product I was working on for six months went down when sales were much lower than I expected.

Perhaps it would be fair to say that it was not just obstacles. In fact, I will call them failure. Because even when I took the step backwards, I could be an ambassador enough to call them challenges, then, when I was fully involved in the outcome, they felt completely defeated.

But I did not give up on the project. I kept going, either by my hard-fought strength, by believing in something bigger than me, or by just a set habit. Maybe a mix of three.

And now, this year, things are starting to pay off. But the fruits of my labor are bitter-sweet, as I see how I have been taught my doubts and fears.

So I made some assumptions, and pointed to a change of mind that helped me move on and get out of my moments of help.

Here are four ways to keep going when your doubts and fears catch you.

Know that everyone has doubts and fears.

When we are plagued by doubts and fears, they may feel stronger, stronger, and completely different from us. We feel compelled to believe because we do not realize that everyone feels these things - even the most successful people - and we can actually choose not to give ourselves to them.

For example, I recently told a friend that I often feel tired when things in my business are not going the way I expected. I was humbled for a moment when he replied, "You know that happens to everyone, don't you?"

The human brain has a string of energy sources for novels. When we see that our fears and doubts are normal, we learn to ignore them when they arise, which in turn weakens their magnetic field. And over time we get better and better at feeling scared and doing it anyway, whatever.

What stands in the way, is the way.

The quote is from the Roman Emperor and the philosopher Marcus Aurelius. It is a powerful reminder that we can always work with what lies ahead, and use it to our advantage.

Our brain has a tendency to see the world in terms of objects. We organize these things into "tools" and "obstacles." If you look at obstacles as part of the path forward, they are transformed into tools. However, if you only see the tools that can be a hindrance, you will soon be overwhelmed by everything in your life that can stop you.

Over the past few years, I have suffered from chronic back injuries, which means I have to take several breaks from sitting down to control the pain.

At first, I was so frustrated that I could not work for eight hours straight, without interruption. Luckily, I’ve already seen how I work, and, just - the way I work. It may be strange, but it is still a tool that takes me where I need to go, and not an obstacle standing in my way. In fact, the breaks allowed me to relax mentally and help me to be productive in a way that I could work all day, maybe even more.

Come back in the future.

Opinion is everything. We often feel skeptical and scared when we focus on our current situation. The longer we focus on our worries, the greater the risk.

Our thoughts and feelings often change over time, and we can use that to our advantage. One way to do this is to see that things often get better than we did before. We can take this step by going back to the future of thinking and looking at the present moment with the same lens.

I do this in my life by seeing my future looking back on any stressful situation. Sometimes I like to write down the question "What did a ninety-year-old boy think about this situation?"

For example, three months ago I decided to invest in a course to improve my marketing skills. The price did not break the bank, but it did cause concern when the money would come in and pay off. When I asked the question of my future personality, I just felt relieved, because I realized that the anxiety was caused by a story about one month of income, and the whole life of potential money quickly set the anxiety right.

Collect and win elsewhere.

Whether they see it or not, everyone has thousands of small successes and failures in his life. However, our minds can look at failures and create fears and doubts. Once you start ignoring your effective part, it is very helpful to remind yourself that this part still exists.

success
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.