Motivation logo

How to improve your 5km times

My personal story of going from a PB of 20:09 to 18:21

By Noah DouglasPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
How to improve your 5km times
Photo by sporlab on Unsplash

So a little context on me. I have been running on and off for the last decade. Being part of competitive basketball teams as well as very into my Parkruns; I’ve always made sure to have somewhat of a base level of fitness. However, it wasn’t until the start of lockdown that I actively devoted a lot more time, dedication, and hard work to improve my running ability.

I personally believe running has so much complexity despite it being so simple at the same time. This time around I knew in myself I felt fitter, I was running more and I believe my form was there but I needed to break that mental barrier that was stopping me from accepting that feeling of progression. That to me was getting a new 5km PB.

Being stuck at around the 20-minute mark for around 2 years had been tough and had been a big reason why I never really focussed on it. I thought I would never succeed but when I dialed in on my running I learned a lot and the PB soon followed. Here’s what I did to achieve that 18:21 time.

You just have to fall in love with the sport

It is very easy to become overwhelmed with all the gear, compare your stats on Strava, and be discouraged when you get injured or make little progress. I often find myself in this rut.

However, when on this mission for the 5km time I did some introspection and worked out what parts of running I really loved. So for me, it was going to new places, being with people, and setting myself lots of challenges. Coupling that with lots of Youtube running content I kept myself very inspired to get out there.

You can’t just run once a week

Running once a week is simply not enough. The best way to improve your times more than anything is to just increase the amount of time running. There is a strong correlation between the distance covered each week and your speed. Just getting out more will dramatically increase your PB if you're currently only running once a week.

Often getting more runs in is tricky for people and there will always be exceptions to the rule where you can run fast despite not running in the week. But when I got an 18 minute 5km I was averaging around 3–4 runs and 30–40km.

Interval training

Going from just doing a ‘normal run’ interval training will seem quite weird but I found it provided the most noticeable change in my speed.

For those who don’t know what it is, interval training is essentially doing a specific distance (usually something short like 600 or 800m) then having a set time to pause, and then repeating the distance. These are usually hard efforts so going at your fastest pace or goal PB pace.

So intervals I love doing and recommend for 5kms is maybe 8x800m with 90-second break between every interval. 6x1000m is good too. The beauty of intervals is they are a very tangible way of measuring progress. So one week you can be having your interval break as 90 seconds then the next at 60. It’s often the hardest workout but the most rewarding.

By Chander R on Unsplash

Long runs

These sorts of runs are also your bread and butter to your training. Despite training for 5km it is actually really helpful to get a long run in. Once a week is plenty and it doesn’t have to be fast but having consistent longer workouts will improve your aerobic base.

This is essentially you training your endurance, your cardiovascular and respiratory function alongside building up your heart and lung strength. All very good things. Personally, when training 5km I don’t find anything more than 15km that useful but you can personally experiment.

Look after your body

When going after a goal such as a PB you are pushing your body to something it hasn’t done before therefore you need to be in peak condition. This involves looking after yourself beyond the running.

Diet and sleep are things people often neglect but are so important. Make sure to fuel yourself well and hydrate often. I personally used to struggle a lot with drinking water but literally forced myself to get better and as a result, feel a lot healthier overall. The good thing about diets is that for running you can generally eat whatever you want due to how much exercise you do, however, as a rule of thumb I personally would always stay away from processed and sugary stuff. We all know what is healthy and not so yeah make a diet that works for you. Same to be said with sleep- we all know staying up till 2 isn’t healthy. Get the right amount of hours for you and keep it consistent.

Another big thing I have recently gotten into is how I recover. So this involves stretching more, strength and conditioning, and slow runs. Although not a necessity these all help prevent injury.

Personally, I make sure to have at least a few easy runs each week, I warm-up and cool down properly and use equipment to aid recovery. Stuff like a balance board, a foam roller, and resistance bands. All very affordable and brilliant tools. I highly recommend it.

Race day

Whether you are simply doing a Parkrun, a run around your park, or an actual official race I find that an event always helps when wanting to get a new PB.

I got mine when I had a few friends run with me and pace me for my time. We decided beforehand that this was the day. We scouted the right route, we all got hyped and then we ran it. Having other people to help you definitely makes it easier.

---

At the end of the day running for a time isn’t the be-all and end-all, so if you don’t manage to achieve your PB that’s okay. But it’s always good to strive for new goals; maybe that's distance, doing off-road running, or being pacers for friends. Whatever the case I wish you the best of luck on that journey, keep running!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Noah Douglas

Perpetually curious.

Journeyman of faith†

Runner, writer, marketer.

Some of my other work ↓

www.noahdouglas.net

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.