Motivation logo

How to Honor Their Legacies and Lessons

Lessons

By Bishnu BhandariPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
How to Honor Their Legacies and Lessons
Photo by J. Kelly Brito on Unsplash

The song is over, but the music continues. ”~ Irving in Berlin

I never went to my grandmother's funeral as a child, and honestly, I was secretly glad I didn't. I was too young to understand what death was like, and I don't think I had the strength to do so. So when I heard about their deaths, I told them the news that they had gone on a long vacation and had a lot of fun, so we didn't see them.

This story has been playing in my mind all these years, and that’s what kept me moving forward. But deep down, I knew that I was terrified of death and could not stare into her face.

But lately I had to deal with it when I went to the funeral of a co-worker who was like a mentor to me. His sudden and sudden death is like a fist in the stomach.

After his funeral, we began to lock up, and it was as if the whole world had been wiped out. It was as if his death had stopped life. That’s the kind of idea DM had for me. My head started to shake, and I could not really tell what had just happened and why.

You see, DM had a very big personality. She was full of life, compassionate, caring, organized, organized, and all sixty.

He was recovering well, and until one happy day in September he had a stroke. But he fought like a tiger and soon was about to be corrected. I imagined him coming home from work at least a little later. The side also surprised her, because she knew her health and was very mindful of her eating habits, etc.

I always thought I would see DM enjoying retirement life, spending golf, doing charity events, enjoying beautiful karaoke, singing, entertaining and spending time with the people he loves. Amid all his entertainment, I thought he would still be part of the business as a smart genius. But my dreams were destroyed there in January, suffering from other problems.

I didn’t think much of it, because he had fought like a tiger before and I was sure he would do it again. But it seemed that destiny had other plans and it took him away from us on March 11th.

I did not really understand how or how that could happen. It was death raising its ugly head again. At this point no story could have told me otherwise. I could not escape because Dm and I were working together, and I would remember his presence at work. No amount of storytelling could stop me from facing the truth. She was dead, and there was nothing I could do about it. I had to face this fact.

I could not bear the thought of returning to the office. This idea has disappointed me. I was not sure if I would be able to cope with this situation. But I had to do it because we were going to lock it down, and I had to wrap it up so I could start working at home. Every time I went to the office I was asked about his presence there. My stomach would vomit.

I found it difficult to accept his death. How can I get over it?

I had met DM at a time in my life when I was feeling very low. My husband was abroad at the time, and my children were small.

I remember the conversation. It was a property management project, and I was very good at it. But the timing and flexibility provided by the position are in line with my great plan of things. And the fact that it was in the form of a mortgage, something I had been doing for many years attracted me to work. In the interview, something told me it was going to be the best decision of my life.

We worked together for two years, and during that time, I saw that we had much in common. DM was quiet, secretive, friendly and concerned. Probably because our birthdays were just a day apart, we got along without even talking.

A year later, when she and my husband decided to work together, I was overjoyed because DM was not only trustworthy, but also a pioneer in its field, loyal and had a good reputation.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.