Motivation logo

How To Handstand

Why Handstands Are Vital In Life

By Daisy RayPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Handstands are vital in life... what a very bold statement! Not everyone can or even wants to be able to handstand, so why did I just blatantly state that they are vital? Because as a person currently learning how to handstand my life has become that much greater and purposeful just from attempting a handstand every day. Because in setting that extremely difficult goal that I am determined to accomplish, my mindset has changed to a "can do" mindset. Every morning I wake up looking forward to the possibility that perhaps today ill be able to handstand for longer, today I will train to become stronger. That mindset is what pushes me to accomplishment every day, even with things that have nothing to do with the handstand!

Every day I wake up determined to drink two bottles of water before drinking my favorite drink coffee... This habit is a result of my goal to do a handstand because I've found when my body is hydrated and functioning properly I have better balance for my handstand. Then I change into a workout outfit that matches and makes me feel confident. I've learned that when I look confident and put together I start to feel more confident and put together. It is impossible to do a good handstand without confidence. Next step is i leave my house, i don't typically practice handstands at my house because im in a "rest" mindset while there. Not a "push yourself to knock out goals" mindset. So i go to the gym or studio at a time when i know ill probably be the only person there and train for an hour. I start with tense core workouts that lead into total body workouts with weights and lastly i practice doing the handstand. My body has become stronger through the workouts that before i had no motivation to do, but now am motivated to knock out every workout with the mindset that my body needs to be healthy and strong to be capable of a handstand. Then the best feeling ever is the mixture of fear and excitement when your entire body is upside down with nothing holding it up but your own strength. And every time i come crashing down i jump back up to try again. That is why handstands are vital for life. Because they teach both your mind and body how to push past its natural wants for comfort and to strive to achieve the extrodinary. It teaches you that even when you fall, there is so much more reward from getting back up again.

Now, do I think that everyone is going to read this and be inspired to go stand on their hands every day? No.

The goal of all that was to impress upon you the importance of setting goals in life. Yes little goals but also big goals, ones that scare you but also drive you to push yourself further than you would without those goals. When we chase big goals we tend to adapt and become stronger, more determined, even sometimes healthier. Our lives were not just made to stay static without change or adaption, that would be sad. Extraordinary lives are lived by the people who set goals and made a change. In their own lives and the lives of others. So when i say handstands are vital for life what I really mean to say is that goals are vital for an extraordinary life.

A goal to strive for can keep us running for days, months, years, life. What are your goals? Are you chasing them with excitement and passion? Are you diving headfirst or willing to upside down to achieve them? If so, you’re on track to living your best life.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Daisy Ray

I believe the world can be changed simply through the power of a smile.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.