Motivation logo

How to Deal with Those Dark Depressing Days

My Personal Tips That have Made all the Difference For Me

By Stephanie Published 5 years ago 7 min read
Like

Having one of those depressing dark cloudy days? I grew up in Oregon so I've had thousands of them. Literally. Which should make me an expert in dealing with them. So here are some tips I have for helping you get through them too:

Get dressed up.

If you hate doing this, then get into your most comfortable clothes, but make sure they are clean and even warm them up by putting them into the dryer. If you are like me and you like to dress up, do it! Take a shower/bath, do your make-up and hair, and get into an outfit that you love. Do everything you can to help yourself feel your best. This will help you think better and clearer. You will have more motivation for the day by creating inspiration of your own.

Go outside for a walk.

I know it looks super gross out, but trust me. Once you get out there and start moving, you will feel much better. Even if you feel exhausted it can make a huge difference. There is some light out there! The air is also much fresher after a rain and this is very stimulating to breath in. Being around nature is really healthy for you, even if that just means you look at the gardens of your local neighborhood or park. It’s really fun to travel to nicer neighborhoods too, and see all the fancy architecture and manicured gardens people have. This is very inspiring and helpful to your brain. When you get back inside, you will be amazed at how much clearer your mind is and how motivated you suddenly are.

Put up photos of sunny tropical places.

I find this really helps me get through those long winters! I buy calendars of tropical island photos for around $15-$25 each and then I separate them and tape them to the wall. This gives me 12 very large photos to post at once or change throughout the year. I put them in the room I’m in most. I find it very inspiring to look at palm trees, sunlit beaches and sunsets all day instead of the rainy cold wet darkness outside. The larger the photo the better. You can find these at Fred Meyer’s, Dollar Tree, eBay, and Amazon.

Make a list.

As I mentioned it can be very difficult to think clearly and stay motivated when it is poor weather, or you are tired, or emotionally drained, or just feeling depressed for no reason. Making a list can really help you stay focused and productive. It doesn’t have to include every little thing you need to do or all your goals for the year, just make a general list. Otherwise you may overwhelm yourself and that is even more de-motivating. Put positive things on there too like, “go for a walk” or “try that new drink at Starbucks” or “rent that movie you missed in the theater”. Don’t just make it all about work, because taking a break is just as important and will contribute to your productivity.

Watch a movie!

I mean really watch a movie. Go to the library and find an old classic or something from the 80s or 90s or go to Redbox and get that movie you enjoyed or missed seeing in the theater. Clean off your couch and a table and get a clean blanket. Then get pizza and soda and invite a friend or neighbor over if you want and turn out the lights and enjoy your own home movie theater. I love movies, maybe you are more of a book person, do the same thing with a book if you want. Maybe make your favorite drink instead and sit on your bed.

Take a nap or have a quiet moment.

Sometimes all you need is to catch up on your sleep and you will feel loads better. Even just resting quietly in a comfortable place with the lights off can be helpful. This is a form of meditation, I think. Many times I have turned the lights off and laid in my bed and after about 15-30 minutes maybe I felt totally rejuvenated and refreshed like I had just woken up from a good sleep. I think I must have done a form of transcendental meditation without realizing it because all I did was relax my mind for a while without going totally into a dream state but also not being totally conscious. This really cleared my mind and transformed my mood for the rest of the day. I wish I could do this again at will but I hear it takes practice. So just keep practicing relaxing. Sometimes it works, and sometimes what you really need is to go outside for a brisk walk. I have done this when feeling very tired and it has helped tremendously.

Take a bath or a nice shower.

I’m not really a bath person right now, I much prefer showers. I like to sit at the bottom of the shower and have the hot water pour on me like I’m in a humid rainforest. This is very relaxing and probably good for your immune system especially if you have been outside in the cold and need to warm up. Also feeling clean will always boost your mood.

Listen to music!

I find this is really powerful in changing the mood of the day. You can go from rain to shine with the right song. Often, people tend to listen to songs that coincide with the mood they are feeling, like something very sad, which is great for emotional release. But I encourage you to try to listen to something positive or happy instead. Everyone’s music tastes are very different but I find Madonna’s early music to be very positive. Many times I’ve put her on and the second I hear her voice my mood as gone from 0 to 100. She has a very motivating power in her voice. Find an artist or song that does that for you and make it your “go-to” for dark depressing days.

Snap a photo!

Take a photo of yourself in your nice outfit you put together or of your make-up or jewelry you are very proud of. If you think this will only make you feel worse than skip it. This should only motivate you and encourage you, not make you feel bad. Play around with different angles to see what looks best. Even the best looking people have bad angles, you just have to find the right one (holding your camera above you usually works). Go to your window and catch the light on your face or stand under the brightest light in your house. Light can make or break your photo. If you don’t want to photograph yourself then take a picture of something you like in your house like your wall collage or what you recently organized. Something that reflects you in a positive way and makes you feel proud. Go outside and take a picture of the sky or a flower in your neighbor’s garden. This can help you see how beautiful the day actually is and then you will have created a nice memory.

Brighten your own day!

Sometimes when the light isn’t outside to brighten our day, we need to do it ourselves. Spend a few dollars and buy yourself a hot drink or a gelato ice cream or even a small accessory you like. These little things can really inspire you and help lift some of the heaviness that comes with sitting in the “dark” all day.

Basically the idea is to do something you enjoy doing or perhaps don’t normally do but would enjoy trying in order to bring some life into your day and break up the monotony and therefore changing your mood. Try painting or taking photos, write a continuation of a movie or tv show you wished hadn’t ended or write the ending you want it to have. Write a song or funny poem about someone you care about or are inspired by.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.