Motivation logo

How Creating a Vision Board Inspired Me to Dream

Cliché, but give this a chance!

By Anik MarchandPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

Lame and cliché title, I know. BUT! Hear me out, (please).

A few years ago, my father and I were sitting in front of the television while I was visiting and, as per usual, we weren’t doing much. We weren’t really talking either, things have always been awkward between us so we just stay quiet most of the time. Anyway, I picked up the book he had laying on the coffee table, it read The Secret. I looked through the pages reading philosophical passages about this mysterious “Law of Attraction” and things like “The Law of Attraction is one of the most powerful laws in the universe. What you think about is what you bring about into your life. You can improve your life drastically by improving the thoughts that you dwell upon and the actions that you take.”

I thought it was all horse crap, well, for a hot minute. Later that night before going to bed I was scrolling through the abundance of movies on Netflix and by chance fell onto The Secret.

I chuckled thought to myself “they even made a movie? That’s a bit excessive” and, pressed play.

The movie was kind of terribly done with testimonies from people who had practised the laws of attraction and that whatever they had wished for and thought positively about came true. Again, I thought this wasn’t real, shut my computer down and went to sleep.

That night I had a strange dream about cutting up pieces of paper which, is one on of the aspects of the laws of attraction (seeing or visualizing what you want). So, against my will, that following morning I got my Moleskin and began writing a few things I wanted and laid in bed thinking about them, just, you know, to make sure this whole thing was fake. I was convinced nothing would happen.

The Law of Attraction states that if you visualize yourself every day already having the things you want for a minute or two, you send energy or vibrations into the universe and it will respond by answering your demands. Now, I must warn you, this takes time and just because you have envisioned yourself winning a million dollars, doesn’t mean you will win the lottery overnight. However, the universe will provide in very strange and unexplainable ways.

For example, after writing things in my notebook that I wanted, thinking about them when I’d wake up and before I’d go to sleep, I began to slowly forget what I was putting into the universe so, I created a vision board. This implied me cutting up images of things I wanted in my life whether it be to be more positive, to find love, a good job, the houses I find nice and, honestly, I put down whatever image I found that appealed to me. I remember putting down the date August 28th. I had no plans for that date but I just put it down on my wall and looked at it, thought about it and visualized something good happening that day.

On August 28th, the boy I was seeing asked me to be his girlfriend! I hadn’t visualized this but I had visualized something positive and (at the time) this was a very positive thing happening to me. I have visualized me teaching English which happened, I have visualized many trips which have materialized amongst so many other things. Now, keep in mind that what I am visualizing I am also working towards but the universe just, magically (and I know this sounds absolutely crazy) gives you a little push towards what you want.

I’ve never been one to push my beliefs on anyone as I hate when people do that to me, however, this is a pretty radical way of changing your life and I believe that a lot of us need a change or something positive to focus on in 2018. Google “Law of Attraction” and read up on what it can do for you. Again, I’m not saying you will become the next sexiest man alive or the next Bosslady; however if you visualize it, you never know!

goals
1

About the Creator

Anik Marchand

Anik Marchand moved from New Brunswick to Southern Ontario at a young age, lived some crazy moments in Montréal, and is now based in Madrid, Spain.

E-mail: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.