Motivation logo

How Busyness can be Beneficial

Importance of having a hobby

By The Breatharian BloggerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
How Busyness can be Beneficial
Photo by Seven Shooter on Unsplash

Have you ever thought of why some people get bored? What about yourself?

Have there been times when you entered into the realm of boredom and didn’t know how to cope?

When you might have had a big task to tackle, but in your mind you just said: NOPE!

Many people have felt the same, but is lack of inspiration to blame?

As we are searching for methods of change, let us see how the mind can be tamed.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

There was a thought that came to me one day: I'm truly thankful for busyness. I'm truly thankful for my love of reading, for my love of learning, to enjoy writing, to enjoy reading novels.

To enjoy using my imagination and creativity in ways that feed me, instead of drain me, instead of just entertain me.

But instead finding things that sustained me. Because if I was still in the mindset of “when's the next time I can play a video game?” or “when's the next Netflix show?” I feel like I’d be caught in a cage.

I hardly had connection while traveling in Italy so, having many days with nothing to “do”, I'd probably go crazy after a while.

By engin akyurt on Unsplash

At a certain point you start to be so bored that, unconsciously, you would be driven into doing detrimental things.

Things that derail your mind and the dream that you designed for yourself. You end up not valuing the vision that you see for yourself. A brighter vision for better health and maybe even more wealth. This vision is for you and no one else.

I found gratitude for having a mind that enjoys little things. Things like solving Sudoku puzzles. Like playing a Rubik’s cube. Little things like reading a book, or taking a walk in nature.

Little things like being in the quiet. In the calm of all the chaos. In the peace of all the pandemonium. And in the solace of your own silence and solitude.

You find that you can be content. And to be content is always time well spent.

By processingly on Unsplash

I read in a book recently where the main character met an interesting gentleman. This man said that he had to have things to do because “if a man has idle hands, if a man has nothing to do, it is dangerous. He becomes a danger to his own self.”

There's usually nothing good that comes out of idle hands. It is the workshop of the devil, They say, when we have nothing productive or constructive on our hands.

Eventually we may turn to the destructive. The things that detract and hold us back.

Dis-traction is the opposite of traction for there really is no staying still. We are either moving forward or backward. So wouldn’t you rather move onwards and upwards?

By Darius on Unsplash

If you have a love for the hobbies or unpopular habits, be grateful.

I am thankful for my love of reading and the ways that reading is feeding me.

Be thankful that you’ve been able to find the magic in the mundane.

Be thankful if you can find love for the things that others may find lame.

It is actually insurance because it ensures that you will never remain the same. The change it usually garners comes with a wealth of gain.

This inner wealth can even come in the form of a bright brain.

If life is a game, the only way that you could lose is to quit. But we sometimes get into a fit when all we do is just sit.

Therefore, have an aspiration and something bigger to inspire. For the consequences of not having a dream can be dire.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this and gained any value, supporting with a tip is greatly appreciated!

adviceself helphappiness
1

About the Creator

The Breatharian Blogger

Here to inspire you on your journey. ✊🏾

Connect with me on IG @jromeshaw

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.