Motivation logo

How Admitting My Mistakes Helped me Grow

5 Ways to Learn from Mistakes

By Alma BegovicPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I acknowledge that it's through mistakes that we record some of the most outstanding achievements in life. We make mistakes daily. Even though they are not earth-shattering or life-changing, they exhibit things we should avoid doing next time.

I have been in a situation where I promise not to do something again, only to find myself doing the same thing. We make terrible mistakes that we end up denying our involvement in the same. No one wants to be called a failure, and no one wants the group to give up on them. So we hide behind the shadows and let our mistakes define who we are.

To grow differently, we need to learn from our very own mistakes. Therefore, instead of repeating them over again, we use them as a stepping stone. We learn from what we do wrong.

1. Admitting my mistakes helped me acknowledge my errors

I have learned that minimizing my responsibilities or blaming other people for my doings draws me back. It is right to apologize when on the wrong; ego only destroys who we are.

Instead of denying my mistakes, I focused intensely on such questions; “What did I do wrong?” and “How can I make it right?”

2. I became a good example to many

We all err sometimes, and mistakes are part of life. However, the way we handle situations after realizing we’re wrong says a lot about who we are. By admitting my mistakes, I displayed integrity, thus building trust. As a result, I influence people positively, and that prides me.

Considering that I can admit my wrongs, it shows that I’m aware of them and in a position to learn from them. Acknowledging that I’m wrong feels liberating, and it puts me and those in my life on a path towards a better future.

3. At last, I’m free from guilt

Nothing draws people back like guilt. Despite how much I convince myself that there is no effect to that mistake, it will still hurt me from within. It costs me nothing to accept that I took my mom's change or left work earlier than I should.

When we are aware of our wrongs and still fail to admit them, we end up weak, making it harder to face the world than it would be. But, on the other hand, the feeling of relief helps one to grow healthier and better.

4. Whenever there is room for improvement, there is growth

When we make mistakes, we understand that we’re not perfect. No one is. The best thing is that you have intentions to try your best. In perfection, there is no room for improvement. It is the mistakes we make that help us to grow.

5. Focus on the big picture

We gain courage, experience, and confidence every time we commit a mistake, but we get better at the things we love to indulge in with time. The thing is to grow healthier and better in life. Mistakes are inevitable, but we can learn from them and grow.

When you've acknowledged your mistake, think about what you could do to prevent it from happening again. For example, if you didn't follow a process properly, consider introducing a more robust checklist or a clearer process document.

Stop beating yourself up, pause for a moment to reflect, and start thinking about how you can gain from the situation.

It takes courage to stand in front of someone and admit that you did something wrong.

If you enjoyed reading this piece about how admitting mistakes helps us grow, please check out my website.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.