Motivation logo

Hospitality Motivation

how to stay motivated in your job

By MeghanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read

What keeps me motivated after a 10 hour shift at work talking to guests all day, and making sure all 884 rooms are properly cleaned for our resort guests? Motivation comes from having a passion for what you love, a passion for what you do, I knew I had a passion for hospitality when I started college and did my first internship on a riverboat. That motivation continued onto my next 3 hotel internships before going into my manager in training program in this beautiful 884 Palm Desert Resort. When I first started I was terrified, I was in the hardest department, housekeeping with a new team and living on my own. I had high endurance due to my internships which were 10-16 hours shifts but never at this big of a property.

Motivation is what keeps you going, motivation is what makes you wake up in the morning makes you drive for success, drive for that next step in life that you want to get too, for me that is becoming Director of Services at beach resort one day. Each day I tell myself, this is one step closer, one career that will help me in reaching my ultimate goal. Not everyday I have motivation after 60 hour weeks motivation can get drained, that is when personal care comes into place, find the activities that re-energize you, for me it is taking hikes, and reading my favorite books.

Motivation is the key to success, it is the key that opens so many doors in life, motivation is part of who you are part of what has gotten you this far in life, and that is what i love about my motivation for hospitality it is that one industry where I can actually tell people I love my job, I want to go to work, I look forward to going to work everyday because I love to smile and make my guests smile with the exceptional service we give them. Even after challenging days, and challenging turnarounds where we may have 700 in and 700 out I love those kinds of days, the days where we see our whole team helping each other where all the supervisors are running from room to room making beds and dusting to help our housekeepers. Our guests walking down the hallways with smiles as they start their vacations that is what motivates to not only go to work everyday but to do what I love in an industry that I have come to love.

Remember that motivation comes from the little things, find something you love in your job and remember that everyday you go into work, feel excited to go to work everyday and be proud, see where you make a difference in your company and tell that to yourself. Everyday Î go into work I say today I will make one person day better whether that be a guest or a fellow associate. I remember the amazing memories I made for guests, the knowledge I shared about our beautiful desert resort oasis with them, and that motivates me to make it through the tough days.

My team also motivates me too, they are the most hard working but also fun every morning we do a little dance to start the shift we call it like zumba daily dance and our housekeepers get so into it and it energizes everyone for the day, I enjoy being able to put smiles and be the person to say thank you for all your hard work, I strive to be the person who is on the floor with my team helping out and showing them that we as supervisors have motivation to help them succeed.

Motivation is important in any job, I hope you will find your motivation in your current job and future job, don't forget that every job you do plays a key role in your dream job, you may not be at the job you want to right now but the job you are in can take you to the next leap for your dream job and see that as a motivation to get to that dream job one day.

success

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MWritten by Meghan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.