Motivation logo

Growth

Self-love and growth

By AjPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

This was taken about 5 years ago, and how much I have changed physically and mentally!! I didn’t even know how much until I realised that I started to censor myself in order to avoid conflict or just avoid looking like an idiot- I never use to care about stuff like that.

I recently had some very important conversations with some of my friends, at different moments. these conversations got me thinking about how I am now and how I use to be (how I have changed).

To grow, we need to think about our past and how we have changed, if good or bad. self-reflection is very important because you learn to see your faults and how to improve yourself. To be able to self-reflect is important when it comes to growth and its a very valuable skill to have, it can help in your personal and professional life.

This post will be a short post on my own personal growth and what I have realised about myself and the changes i have noticed!

However, I have always been a nervous over-thinker, as my brother likes to remind me but I wasn’t scared to speak my truth, even if it got me in trouble or hated!

I know I can never go back to those days but Since realising this change about myself, I have been trying to practice things that make me feel like myself again. Doing things that make me confident in myself and doing things I use to love but just forgot about. Basically rediscovering myself…because I feel that I had lost myself a little.

I am relearning to love and believe in myself and be unapologetically me, which I have found to be harder because I seemed to have forgotten about all my good qualities that made me, me.

I am so very grateful for the people in my life right now that reminds me of my qualities and help me grow and flourish. I know I will keep growing and learn to be more myself. Having the right people in our life really does make a difference in how happy we are and it shows.

3 Habits that can help with positive thinking

1.

I try and think about what is true and false (when we are feeling down we can have negative thoughts about ourselves therefor making easier is feel worse and even treat others badly).

2.

I try and focus on the good that I know is true at that moment in time(I find that this centres me and helps me realise that that feeling will past and stop me thinking negatively).

3.

Practice having an attitude of gratitude and seeing the good in your environment (on my notes I have a list of things am grateful for and I read it and add to it when am feeling down or just when I need to remember, this gets me thinking about all the great things I have in my life that sometimes, I just forget about special when am not feeling special).

And by being able to think positively during these negative times, it can help you because you end up learning from the situation and you start to identify things you can do differently and changing the outcome if you were in a similar situation

So always surround yourself with people that care for you as much as you care so you help each other grow. Because not having the right people that understand you, can really hurt your growth, confidence and mental health. Let’s remember to love one another and grow together!

❤️. #selflovejourney #confidencegrowth #regrowth #friends #family #love

healing
Like

About the Creator

Aj

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.