Motivation logo

Gratitude Is More Than an Attitude

Review of "Thank You, Yes Please: Do-It-Yourself 30-Day Gratitude and Manifestation Experiment"

By Heather DownPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

If you are familiar with Rhonda Byrne’s The Secret or The Power, you are completely in the loop of what many in the New Age realm call “The Law of Attraction.” However, according to Harvard University's website, there have been quite a few studies that substantiate a link between being grateful and being happy, and H.A. Fraser has set up a personal gratitude experiment anyone can conduct on their own in her book Thank You, Yes Please.

Since gratitude appears to be good for our sense of well-being, how do we implement it? Is it truly just an attitude? H.A. Fraser claims that it needs to be a more. She proports that it needs to be a practice, something you do on a regular basis.

Fraser also claims that society teaches us to experience happiness based on circumstances right from when we are first taught manners:

When we were young, our parents taught us to use the words “please” and “thank you,” usually in that order. Our younger selves would ask for something and preface it with “please,” and when we received it, we would say “thank you.” Maybe mother doesn’t always know best, because I think the order is backwards. Instead of focussing on what I want and then being grateful, I have found that focussing on my blessings first allows me to be content and consequently brings more good things into my life.

Fraser puts forth that if we say our “thank you” before our “yes please,” we will notice more joy in our life.

Each journal page consists of three parts:

1. Write down three things you are grateful for .

2. Write down 3 things you would like to see happen the next day.

3. Dates and details of when these things come to fruition or “manifest.”

That's the daily routine. Easy peasy and only takes a couple of minutes per day.

What differentiates this gratitude journal from most others on the market is the ability to look back and write about all good things that have come true. In fact, Fraser goes so far to make it an experiment, giving instructions to tally manifestations and find out what percentage of positive things have happened in a 30-day period.

I have done this experiment (more than once) and my results astounded me. I was at a 94% success rate. I probably always have had a lot of wishes come true, but never took stock. This journal really forced me to look at the great things happening in my life.

Now there are some tips that the author puts forth to increase the success of your experiment:

Your request has to be believable for you.

Write down your request only once.

Start small.

Ask for what you want, not how you want it to occur.

Be specific.

I do believe these suggestions are key. For example, if I am honest with myself, I don’t believe that I will win the lottery. Obviously, I won’t write that request down. However, do I believe some unexpected money might come my way or I might get a free coffee? Absolutely! And I was astonished how many things came into being the very next day.

Fraser does not claim any affiliation with New Age, religion or quantum physics. She states that she isn’t really sure why this method of practicing gratefulness brings more joy into her life, but it is something that works for her and wants to share her methodology with anyone else who might be intrigued.

Give it a try the Thank You Yes Please experiment a try and post your results on their social media page!

book review
2

About the Creator

Heather Down

I am an observer of life through the lens of middle age. Owner of an independent publishing house and a published author, I spend my time obsessing about all things communication. Follow me at Wintertickle Press.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.