Motivation logo

Go For It!

My personal journey into Audiobook Narration

By Melissa Bezborotko Published 3 years ago 4 min read
11

You just never know when something amazing will happen in your life. I received a text message from Matt (My Fiance) on Feb 18th at 8:41 am. It read "You have the perfect voice for this" with an attachment to a website for audiobook auditions. Though, "ok?" but I looked the website over. It was pretty easy to get started. Step-by-step instructions. So, I followed each step. I completed the tax forms so I could get paid and added in my payroll info. Next, I looked at some books to audition for. A couple intrigued me. So, I printed out the audition scrips. I began to read the script in my head and it sounded pretty good. But reading out loud was something different. How do I do this? I thought to myself. So, I decided to get onto YouTube and watch some voice-over tips and tutorials. Spent a couple of days watching many videos. I also checked out Groupon for some audio voice classes. Sure enough, there was a Voice Over for Beginner’s Class for only $10. I bought the Groupon and passed the class that day. (I'm an overachiever) Next, Matt set me up in our basement with his home studio. So, I decided to give this a try. I recorded my first script, did the editing, and sent it to the Amazon author. I was still a little unsure if I sounded right. So, I decided to go onto iTunes and listen to some audiobooks from my phone (Not sure why I haven’t thought of that yet) and I instantly realized my gut was right, I did not sound clear AT ALL! I was now feeling disappointed because I sent in an audition that sucked. Well, to me it sucked. We are our worst and hardest critics after all. When Matt came home that night from work I got him to listen to my recording. He agreed that it wasn’t the best audio and that I read it pretty fast. We tried to play around with some effects, but it just didn’t clean up the audio to perfection. So, I closed my laptop and tried to go to bed. I woke up the next morning and grabbed my cell to see what I missed on social media while I was sleeping. (Addicted much!) I noticed an email. So, I opened up my email app and there was an email from the Amazon author I auditioned for.

“Hello Melissa,

Sera Greyson here. I would like you to re-audition for the part, please. Please re-submit with all three scripts. This is to ensure that the range that is needed is there.

You have spunk and spirit, but the audio clip that I received was a bit fast. Not sure if that was because of editing or maybe software, but I would like for you to please re-submit again.

Please be mindful of the following: Be sure to follow punctuation. Take a breath when needed and pause for dramatic effect. You are a character. Play into this role like you would if this was a character in a movie.

You have talent, I’ll give you that. I want to see that talent shine.

Good luck!

-Sera Greyson

OMG! I couldn’t believe it! Through that mess of my recording, she spots talent? My very first audio audition and this is my feedback. I don’t think anyone could ask for better first audition feedback. So, it was time to step up my game. Matt and I moved his soundboard and mic to our bedroom. Maybe the basement wasn’t great. It was an unfinished room with no sound barriers. Matt hooked everything to my laptop and did a soundcheck for me. We listened back to our test recording, and it was like night and day. Very clear audio. So, I got out the 3 scripts from the author and began to record. Got the first 2 scripts to perfection, or the best I could do anyways. The third script made me nervous, It was a sex scene. I decided to get calm and take a bubble bath with calming music to get relaxed. After that I tackled that sex scene script with every sexiness I could pull out of my body, ha-ha! After some editing, I decided to GO FOR IT!! I re-submitted my audition. It's only been a day since I did my second audition, but I’m on the edge of my seat waiting. In the meantime, I did also audition for a different book yesterday. (update: Did not get the parts) Today I’m looking at more books to audition for. The more auditions I do, the better I’ll get. Practice, Practice, Practice.

What I’m trying to say here is, GO FOR IT! You just never know. I had no clue that I had a talent for voice acting. I did know that I wanted a career in broadcasting since I was a kid. My aunt works in radio. I fell in love the first time she brought me to the studio. This step that I took last week could be another stepping stone to that career in broadcasting. I’ll leave you with this:

Your journey begins outside your comfort zone!!!

**P.S I got the part for the audiobook on Amazon called "Lucifer's Gift" By Sera Greyson. The audiobook will be ready to purchase this Fall 2021!**

Me auditioning for an audiobook

success
11

About the Creator

Melissa Bezborotko

I never know what to write here! I am a mother to two beautiful daughters. As my full-time job, I handle freight and logistics for an office supply company. I enjoy the gym as an outlet for life's stressors, I and I have my own radio show.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.