Motivation logo

Getting to know music artist Daniel Arana

Getting to know music artist Daniel Arana

By Jason James Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

What’s your artist name and where are you from?

I'm Daniel Arana, and I'm from Miami.

Why do you love music?

I love music because it inspires me, moves me, and heals me. One of my main motivations for going into music is to help others heal emotionally. Music has that power by transmitting information melodically and verbally. It's a universal language. In a world where there's so much suffering, music is one of the best ways to relieve stress, soothe the mind, and nurture our hearts.

What makes you different as a music artist?

I write songs from the gay latino perspective, which is something that I haven't seen as something prominent in Latin music, especially in reggaeton. I feel there's a need for that voice to be raised within the music industry. I want to be the first mainstream gay latin artist that sings love songs to a man and not a woman. I want to break barriers and collaborate with other artists in a way that hasn't been done before. For example, if a female artist were to sing with me we could both be singing about men or sing a song as friends. If a male artist were to sing with me, we could either sing as friends without sugarcoating that I'm gay and he's straight or we could even sing a love song to one another if it's another openly gay artist like myself. I definitely feel there's room for allies to help demonstrate that just because you're a straight male artist doesn't mean you can't sing with a gay male artist. I still feel there's a stigma in the public eye that assumes a gay guy can't be friends with a straight guy. These are things that I haven't seen happen in the music industry and I think it's about time to change that. I'm gay, Mexican American, and being from Miami I feel that I have Latin music in my blood. I've been asked why I chose reggaeton if my family is from Mexico. I feel more connected to my hometown, though. Miami is my home and reggaeton speaks to my heart in a way that no other genre does, at least at this point in my career. I'm always open to exploring other genres in the future without limiting my creativity. If I were to describe myself as an artist I'd use three words: heartfelt, passionate, and spiritual.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years, I see myself performing at music festivals and going on tour. I see myself living out my dream as an artist that pushes the agenda of love no matter what race, gender, class, or sexual orientation. I'd love to partner with brands that are LGBT friendly, as well as those that help raise the voice of the Latinx community. I saw an ad recently from McDonald's that I liked because they're helping Latinx filmmakers who are starting out. The program they launched is called Spotlight Dorado. My hope is that more and more brands are willing to partner with Latinx artists, even a gay latino like myself.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

The legacy I wish to leave behind is one of peace and love. I want my discography to express the voice of the gay latino, but more importantly the voice of unconditional love. My music is universal in the sense that anyone can relate to it in some way. At the end of the day, it doesn't matter who you love but that you love. I want to reach millions of listeners to help promote this message. I also hope to collaborate with artists that I admire such as Becky G, Karol G, Bad Bunny, Maria Becerra, and Rosalía. I also have plans to someday found my own nonprofit that helps the LGBT community within Latin America by providing mental health services, including counseling for those struggling to accept and be open about their sexual identity.

What do you bring to the music world?

I bring a fresh perspective to the music world that I haven't seen in the spotlight. Being a gay latino is something I'm honored to be. I want others to feel loved for who they are without feeling that they need to be someone else. The mainstream needs someone like me, someone who's not afraid to sing a love song as an openly gay latino. I respect and admire those who have come before me, but I feel that my lyrics are much more transparent when it comes to gay romance. There's no sugarcoating or assuming or sidestepping in my music. It's very much "this is me, whether you like it or not." It's empowering and it's also freeing. It's about loving yourself for who you are without apologies or regrets.

What do you want to be remembered by?

I want to be remembered for being brave, compassionate, and fierce. I want to be a shining light of peace in the music industry and perhaps someday do the same within film and television. I want to be remembered for breaking barriers in the reggaeton world and helping promote unconditional love on a global scale.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.