Motivation logo

From Homeless To First Class On The French Riviera

How To Come Back Strong And Live Your Best Life

By Roz ClarkPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2

I was in a toxic and dysfunctional marriage for 30 years drowning in debt and discouragement. Today I am running an online business that I love that provides me with the financial, and as the world opens up again, location freedom to live the life that I had been longing for.

Despite being homeless for 3 months after I left my marriage, I was determined to do whatever was necessary to care for my adult son with special needs and live the life that deep down I always knew I was destined to live.

My gift to myself when I hit my first benchmark goal in just 12 months was a 10-day First Class trip to Paris and the French Rivera.

Paris holds a great deal of significance for me because I turned 21 there while on tour with a prestigious classical choir.

I was on a career track as an international soprano and that all changed when my son, my second child was born with special needs.

I made the choice to table my career aspirations to care for and advocate for my son. What I didn't anticipate was that I was married to someone who didn't have the interest, vision, or consistency to work with me to provide for the long-term care of our son.

I finally had to accept that if there was going to be a special needs trust and a safe future for my son, I was going to be the one to make it happen.

I made the decision to release my then-husband to the outcomes of his choices and look to the future of what I knew I was capable of creating. Making peace with what was vs what could have been was my first step to healing.

I began to dream again, something I hadn't done in a long time because I was constantly in survival mode. It's amazing how we sacrifice parts of ourselves one decision at a time and then one day you wake up knowing that you have to make a choice.

What I would encourage anyone to do when that day comes...choose you.

Embrace your "healthy selfish", awaken your dreams, and go after them with passion and determination.

Success has to be more than a want…it has to be a MUST if you are going to stay consistent in the pursuit of your dreams.

Here are 3 steps to set you on the path to lasting success.

  1. Identify what your ideal life looks like.

Get really specific.

Are you tired of living someone else’s version of your life?

Reclaim your power by affirming who you are and how you choose to show up in the world.

Are you tired of trading time for money using your gifts and talents to build someone else’s dream?

Then figure out what YOUR PASSION is and begin to do the research, take courses and find the mentor or coach that will allow you to create the freedom and life that you are longing for.

Clarity is key if you want to go from wishing and wanting to actually living in a way that feels true and authentic to who you are.

2. Set up a daily morning practice that primes you for success each day.

This has been what has centered and sustained me when things became 50 shades of crazy after I left for my safety and peace of mind. I start each day by journaling, doing a yoga practice, followed by prayer and mediation, and finally mapping out my day both mentally and in my daily planner.

My day begins with my agenda…not someone else’s. I don’t look at or answer emails and texts until I am clear on what I intend to accomplish each day.

I learned that this is how the world’s top performers, athletes, and income earners start their day. They take control of their state of mind and their agenda and achieve accordingly.

I figured...if it works for them, it will work for me. And you can do the same.

Figure out what this looks like for you. Is it a cold plunge, hot yoga, a morning run, or stillness in quiet meditation?

You will find that you will be so much more efficient and productive when you reclaim and prioritize your time.

3. Find an accountability partner to advise and support you.

Finally, and foremost…freedom and success doesn’t happen alone or by accident.

While it may feel like it at first, you are not alone on this journey. You will find your tribe.

Be intentional about building a supportive team as quickly as you can. Hire a coach, join networking associations, find groups in your area of interest, and become actively involved.

The more insight you can get from people who are further along in the process of creating an epic life of impact and fulfillment, the faster and further you’ll be able to go.

Surround yourself with people who will remind you of your unique gifts and abilities, and who will challenge you to live into your greatness.

The journey back to who you know you are meant to be doesn't have to take you around the world and yet I encourage you to go as far as your imagination will take you.

As I always say...

Think big ~ Dream Even BIGGER!!!

advice
2

About the Creator

Roz Clark

Helping high-net-worth women who feel trapped in the lives that they’ve created heal from the inside out.

If you have ever felt trapped, unseen, or unheard get a free copy of my video training Healthy Selfish

https://www.rozclark.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.