Lifehack logo

Make Time Work For You

Reclaim Your Time And Focus On What Matters Most To You

By Roz ClarkPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

We've all been there...great ideas, tons of stuff that we already have to do, and no friggin idea of how we are going to get from where we are to where we want to be.

Here's the thing...sometimes it is the simplest things that make all the difference.

I use this simple…yet MAJOR! system to stay focused and on track.

I am the mom of an adult son with special needs, a performer, and a content creator. Trust me...keeping all those balls in the air is no small feat...and...full disclosure...they still hit the ground from time to time.

I hear it all the time…heck...I've said it myself...

I really do want freedom from my demanding schedule but there are just not enough hours in the day for me to get ahead.

Have you ever felt that there are so many things pulling you in a million different directions that you don’t know what to do next?

I get it.

It’s one thing to dream about having more time to spend with your loved ones and achieve all of your lofty goals.

It’s a whole other thing to be able to create the balance to make it happen.

My go-to to figure things out is always reading and research.

I’ve spent years studying with experts in Personal Development, Psychology, and Neuroscience learning peak performance skills and tactics.

What I’ve learned was surprisingly simple: it's not the amount of time that you have, it's the quality of focus and productivity that you apply to the time that you do have.

Aha...now what do I do with this information?

I created what I call the 2H Dogged Determination Method because I HAD to. I gave it a name cause it felt good and I wanted to!

After fleeing a toxic and dysfunctional marriage with an adult son with special needs to care for I had to pivot and focus on how to quickly replace a 6-figure income while providing round-the-clock care for my son. 

Now let me be perfectly transparent with you…

I did the WORK required to create the life that I wanted for my son and myself.

My hope and prayer is that more people operate in their zone of genius and as a result, we make the world a better place because we are operating from a place of peace and contentment.

Here is a super-simple way to block your time.

I hope that it gives you the hope and the freedom that it gave me.

First...set your internal GPS. The way you do that is to get clear about who you want to be and what you want to accomplish.

This will help you get clarity and focus your creative energy so that you accomplish more and stop feeling frustrated and scattered.

Yes, it is based on neuroscience and even better it is super simple to implement.

But make no mistake…it requires you to be consistent and do the work.

It all comes down to this…

Focus On One Thing For 50 Minutes in 2-Hour Time Blocks

Follow these simple steps:

  • Create a designated space to work on your task
  • Set a clear intention of what you want to accomplish
  • Set a timer for 50 minutes
  • State your intention as an affirmation out loud
  • Begin working on your task with no distractions or diversion for 50 minutes
  • Stop when the timer goes off and move away from the task
  • Take a 10-minute restorative break that includes movement and hydration
  • Begin the entire process again focusing on the same intention

That’s it!

This is how I was able to do the things that I had to do to rebuild my life…and more importantly, that allowed me to care for my son with no in-home staff during 15 months of S.I.P. due to COVID-19.

So...for me...a lot of study, a lot of science, and it all came down to the simplicity of "find a way to do what you love in a way that brings you peace and contentment."

The truth is you don’t have to buy into the "grind" mentality and work day and night to be "successful."

I've found that success is what we make it. For me, it is having the ability to be creative, serve my Tribe, and be able to care for my son.

Time blocking allows me to write, create, and serve while still enjoying cooking gourmet meals when I feel like it or ordering in because I can.

Make the time to make doing what you love a priority...the world needs the best and highest version of you now more than ever.

how to
1

About the Creator

Roz Clark

Helping high-net-worth women who feel trapped in the lives that they’ve created heal from the inside out.

If you have ever felt trapped, unseen, or unheard get a free copy of my video training Healthy Selfish

https://www.rozclark.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.