Motivation logo

Forcing Myself To Laugh

Happiness

By LilyPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - August 2023
35
Forcing Myself To Laugh
Photo by Lesly Juarez on Unsplash

This summer was the opposite of what I thought it would be. I thought I would have fun and be the happiest girl. I planned to go watch movies, stay up late, discover new places and so many other things. My brain seemed to have other plans for me. Pretty much on the last day of work I started to feel my mind go numb as well as my feelings. By the time I got home I fell into my bed and stayed there for the rest of my vacation. I could not find the energy to leave my bed, let alone my house. Mentally I decided to give in to my numbness and ceased to speak or feel any emotions. It was peaceful yet scary for me to find myself so cold and unfeeling. I accepted my new reality and wasted my summer away.

Finally, after 2 months of nothingness I am finally starting to feel things again. One particular day my cat did something very funny and I laughed. After laughing I realized I had not laughed in a long time. Laughing was something else I had ceased to do once my numbness took over. I actually felt strange after laughing, like I shouldn’t have done it. I also realized that after laughing for a few seconds my mind felt lighter. In fact my whole body felt lighter and brighter. As I thought about the fact that I had not been able to laugh for so long and not having noticed that until that very moment scared me again. I was living like a robot and I did not like it.

That day I decided that I must force myself to laugh. If I wanted to get back to myself I should start by laughing. Laughing seemed like a good way to start. But besides my cat doing something funny right in front of me, there was not much making me laugh at the time. I remembered the times I laughed the hardest was when I watched certain tv shows. Those tv shows were always available on line and all I had to do was put them on and watch them. I really liked the fact that I did not have to leave the comfort of my bed to try this experiment. Of course, I did not immediately do what I set out to do. The plan was in my brain but for some reason I was finding excuses to avoid it each morning. This is something else I need to work on. For whatever reason I can come up with the best plans for myself and somehow I will intentionally sabotage my plans or hesitate to even get started. At times I feel a little trapped between my fear of trying new things and my guilt of doing the same things over and over again. Either way I seem to end up unhappy.

One morning, after writing in my journal about my laughter plan I finally pushed myself to do it. That morning I played a tv show that always makes me laugh. As I watched the tv show and started to laugh, I could feel myself shifting. I can’t quite say what was shifting but I just felt a change inside of myself. After 30 minutes of laughing along with the pre-recorded tv laughs, I felt brighter and lighter again. I noticed that after watching my show I had more energy and wanted to do things around my house. So I did a couple of things around my house and felt a little better about myself. The next few days I pushed myself to watch funny tv shows daily especially at the beginning of my day. Without fail, there were changes in my mood and my behaviors every single time I watched my tv shows, and all I was doing was just forcing myself to watch an enjoyable tv show every morning.

I read in a book once that forcing your face to fake a smile will have an effect on your mind. Back when I read that I did try it for myself but felt a bit foolish making faces at myself so I gave it up. Now that I have discovered this new trick to help myself laugh I understand why that book suggested fake smiling. As I laugh at my tv show my facial expression moves and changes into a smile and I keep smiling until the next joke. It is my personal belief that my facial expression somehow communicates to my brain that I am happy, and then my brain believes I am happy and starts to send me energy and good thoughts that will keep me happy. Again, this is what I believe is happening in my brain during this time. I will definitely continue doing this to feel better and will post again if I notice if it stops working or something changes.

healing
35

About the Creator

Lily

Writer, Teacher Assistant, creator and believer in the law of attraction

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Justine Crowley6 months ago

    Sorry to hear about the two-month hiatus so to speak. That was your journey, and it happened for a reason. Laughter is the best medicine. In the book called The Secret, it talks about how someone cured their own breast cancer, just by watching some funny movies and shows, so that they could laugh a lot. Nice.

  • Carolmae Hinrichs8 months ago

    Thanks for the information. I am not sure what I will find so I can give this laughing remedy. A try. Though I have spent countless years. Locked inside this similar state. It enters without warning. This dreaded state. At times there is peace some comfort creeping around. Though it’s only for a moment when the dreaded stage sweeps on in. I am sorry. It has to be this way. Until I read this. I did not know. There were others who experienced this type of thing too. Much love to you

  • Excellent and Deserved Top Story, We are featuring this in the Vocal Social Society Community Adventure on Facebook and would love for you to join us there

  • Michelle H9 months ago

    This summer has been weird and almost joyless for me and some other people I've talked to as well. I've wondered if it might have to do with our proximity to so many people who have truly suffered all summer. Not to say that I haven't had a rough time, but nothing like what the victims of the flooding in my state, or of the fires everywhere, have been through. Thanks for sharing your story.

  • Bianca Cornelius9 months ago

    This is me right now, not able to find joy in my days, no laughter. I know what's missing, but I struggle to get a grasp on it. I'm sorry you went through that, I don't wish it on anyone, and am glad you found a way to laugh and smile again.

  • Edward Albert9 months ago

    Thai article reminds me a little of myself. For a number of weeks I didn’t find laughter in my life and I really didn’t realize it until I’ll met my current girlfriend. When we first met we talked and laughed for hours and years later we still do the same every day! This inspired me to make a t-shirt which states Laugh, Love, Live. Words I live by every single day!

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    This is a wonderfully written article with an important message. Laughter truly is the best medicine. Congrats on a well deserved Top Story. You have a new subscriber.

  • Missclicked9 months ago

    WOW! Such a great reminder for everyone to smile today. I even smiled while reading this thank you❤️. I hope you keep smiling as well congratulations on top story💐

  • Brilliant. A well deserved top story and a great reminder to do the same! There is not nearly enough laughter in my life this year!!! Thank you. I look forward to checking out your other stories soon ✨❤️

  • Scott Christenson9 months ago

    This is a good read, exactly what I needed today, as I've been in a bit of a lull lately. Sometimes we need to forcibly inject some happy thoughts into our brain to leave less room for the negative ones. It sounded like you had a great mental rest for a few months though, some of us push ourselves too hard and just need a break sometimes.

  • a dash9 months ago

    Respected madam Truly lovely and exciting content

  • Antoinette L Brey9 months ago

    Glad that it works for you, might be worth trying

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Fantastic story!!! Finding what works for you is awesome!!! ❤️❤️💕

  • Jenifer Nim9 months ago

    I'm glad you found something that works for you. I hope you feel better and better every day!

  • ANFAS9 months ago

    Nice

  • Laura Lann9 months ago

    Interesting take! There is a lot of science behind it. I hope things get better for you. I really enjoyed these musings!

  • ema9 months ago

    Very interesting experiment, I hope you feel better💝

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Laughter is important for physical and mental well-being. Thanks for sharing your story and congratulations!

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Standing in a power-woman stance helps too. I'm sorry you've been having a rough time!

  • Sheila L. Chingwa9 months ago

    Amazing what laughter can do. Takes practice for sure.

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your experience and your plan!

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    Thank you for this. My wife had a very similar summer and I’ve been trying to make her laugh as much as I can. Here’s to silliness and knowing it’s okay to be not okay.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.