Motivation logo

For The Love Of Purpose

A Talk

By Mariam NaeemPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
For The Love Of Purpose
Photo by Maria Teneva on Unsplash

Imagine waking up to a day with nothing in mind that needed to be done, nothing to learn, to think about. I feel quite heartbroken when I think of a life unlived. Because that’s what it would be…unlived. Unfulfilled passion.

I was once asked about religion, someone once said to me “What if there was no religion in the world?”

I ended up turning to him and asking, “What if I took away purpose?”

This isn’t a talk about religion, by the way. It’s about purpose. You see, people don’t realise that religion stirred something in some people. It has saved many, despite religion sometimes being taken to extremes, it has beauty in it too. Purpose is part of that beauty.

Purpose has a couple of meanings:

1: The reason for which something is done or created or for which something exists.

2: A person’s sense of resolve or determination.

So again, I ask you, what if I took away purpose? What if we had no reason for waking up, for living, for doing anything? Nothing worse, right?

Do you create your purpose? Or does it find you?

Have we always had this existential need for SOMETHING?

Going through the motions of a 9–5 for the last ten years, I’ve struggled over time to find my purpose. It’s constantly changed over the years. I had/have a passion for helping people, but people seem to show me their worst selves, making me take a step back from that. There has been one constant throughout my life, since the age of seven and that has been writing.

Why writing? Well, to reveal myself to the world, but not in the way most think. I don’t want to shock or horrify or shout my way across the universe. Being heard is about more than being loud. Sometimes, silence is required. Sometimes, all you need is a sentence, or a paragraph.

For the love of purpose, I’ve made my own purpose to be writing. It instills something in me. More than a sea of calm. It stirs the soul. Lifts my spirits. Takes me away from the mundane motions of monogamous moments.

I’d love to know what purpose everyone has given themselves, because let’s face it, we ALL have one, whether we believe it or not.

If you are a writer, what purpose have you given yourself? Expression, freedom to create, ranting because you CAN?

ANYTHING we do has logic behind it, because logic or reason dictates our sense of self. It’s what drives us to create purpose for ourselves. Because I suppose deep down, without it, we’d be in a fate worse than death. Alive, but not living. Looking, without seeing. Being, without feeling. Yes, for the love of purpose, it keeps us going.

I’ve seen too many good people fail at life because they weren’t driven by any purpose, but yet there were others who created the WRONG kind of purpose, leading themselves and potentially others astray from an enriched life.

No purpose? No life. That’s what I believe. I wouldn’t want to go through life, one day to the next, without some sort of a plan for myself. I don’t want to just EXIST, I want to live. And to live, you need a plan. A purpose. It does change occasionally, but I still make sure I have one. Without purpose, any purpose, I feel as though I would fail. As an overthinker, this would be too much for my brain to handle. All those thoughts left without a reason to think, it’s the death of purpose.

If you liked this random little talk, please heart, tip and support your fellow dreamer. We writers have the same purpose right?

advice
3

About the Creator

Mariam Naeem

Writer - Short Stories, Poetry

Instagram: instagram.com/mariam.naeem256

Twitter: Twitter.com/MariamNAuthor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.