Motivation logo

Finish What You Started

Focusing on one thing at a time

By Neshea SinclairPublished 5 years ago 7 min read
Like

If you’re anything like me, and you find meaning in everything, this is the perfect article to read. Along my spiritual journey I’ve realized we learn things over time. You never really learn a lesson until you see it from every viewpoint, and even then there’s more to learn. On the weekend of April 27th, I was spending the weekend in Richmond, Virginia. I was sitting through a business conference, and just when I thought that I didn’t need to take anymore notes, this guy comes on stage and starts speaking my language. He starts out by saying

“Honor yourself, honor your body, honor your spirit, and honor your goals.”

This is what is to be considered a “Golden Nugget” in the business quote world. He continues with,

“What kind of questions are you asking your mentors?”

That question paralyzed me for a moment. I was stuck, because there were no questions that were lingering in my mind, none at all.

For the past month, I’ve had these phenomenal people just a phone call away. I could ask them about any and everything, and they were supposed to have the answers, and or guidance to teach me what it was that I needed to know. I remember sitting in meetings at the conference, hearing people say, “use your mentors, call them whenever you need them, have questions ready to ask them—and I had nothing. It really dawned on me when I was face to face with a millionaire that I personally met a couple of weeks prior. He was with one of my mentors, I walked over, said hello with my arms open to give him a hug, we hugged, I asked him how he was doing, he responded, I told him it was nice to see you, and I walked away.

I honestly didn’t realize that I should’ve had these question lined up, ready to ask when I was face to face with him, or any other successful person for that matter. But yet again, here I was, hearing the same line I heard several times before. So I made a note in my notes that said “ What kind of question do you ask your mentors? And their mentors?” Not too long after the next nugget came, and it was

“Focus On One Thing At A Time!”

And I followed it up with “Finish what you started.” Then I thought, Shay, wait! 🤔 Didn’t you write this in your phone notes just a couple of days ago? And I did. It was at the top of my notes. It wasn’t until a couple of days later that this really meant anything to me.

The timing of this note is pretty fascinating to me. It was the last entry in my notes the day I went to write an email to a couple I was going to commit the next five years of my life to. I was about to go boldly into a life-long partnership with this couple in Network Marketing. Simply said, Network Marketing is a real-world business school for people who want to learn the real-world skills of an entrepreneur, rather than the skills of an employee. They use the power of word-of-mouth, person to person relationships to build a substantial network that represents the company’s line of products, and/or services. Two days prior to launching my business in network marketing, I realized it wasn’t a fit for me. A day later I was suppose to attend another network marketing training at eight PM that night. I received a text at 6:20 PM from my mentor saying;

“Hey girl! Just a heads up tonight during the training I’m going to bring people who went to their first conference up to say one thing they learned over the weekend : -)"

It was then that I knew I had to let her know about my decision. I didn’t want to go into a room full of people, not being authentic to the cause, knowing that I no longer wanted to be apart of their team. So it was then that I went to draft my email, and I saw my last note, and it honestly saved me the heavy thought process of thinking about what I was going to say.

After sending the email I felt good, but then I knew I had to live up to my words, and really take charge of my future. I had to make my dream a reality. I had to put my focus on one thing and not stop until I got the results that I deserved. So then I had to ask myself, “How am I going to pull this off?” I thought about all of the things that I started and didn’t finish. It was shocking, because had I put some order to my many projects, I could’ve been off to a great start a long time ago.

My projects included; crafting, blogging, healing, tarot readings, numerology charting, helping others identify with self love, teaching others about spirituality, and to become their true selves. Now for one person this is a lot to manage, but thanks to the 21st century, and its technology, my hobbies could actually turn into my career. All I needed to do was create my platform, make material, and not stop until I got the results that I deserve.

I believe that we are the creators of our reality. When we try to put our attention on too many things at once, we’re easily distracted. The book The Power of Now is great for anyone who has trouble focusing on one thing at a time. It talks about really being in the presence of your present moment. Most of us don’t notice that we’re in pilot mode. We’re so use to our routines and actions that we do them without thought. Since these things are so routine we don’t have to think about what we’re doing. We’re ether thinking about the past or the future, talking to someone on the phone or in person, listening to music, we're on our phones, or watching TV, and none of these things have your full attention, and that ruins the present moments for most of us. Never once do we just take a moment to breath, and put a focus on that and how it feels. An example would be that moment you close your eyes at night. It’s time to go to bed, and now your running through your whole day in your mind. Your mind is so active at this time, because it’s probably the first time all day that your body had time to rest. Instead of you being present with your body, and acknowledging your breath and how you feel, you spend your time in the past, thinking about stuff that has already happened, or that you’re planning for the next day.

Fun Fact: “whatever you think about in the last five minutes before falling asleep is going to stay in your subconscious, and it’s going to project into your dreams."

Without even knowing, you're manifesting through your dream state and creating your reality. Being aware and present allows you to be the conductor of your life. It allows you to focus in on what you truly desire if used right. Had I continued with my partnership, my focus would have been spread thin. I’d have to invest my money, time, and effort on another person's dream versus putting that money, time, and effort into my own. Do I think I would’ve been successful? Absolutely. But I wouldn’t have been as present for my own dreams. When you put your full attention on your dreams, and you're actively working on it every day, in some shape or form you’re going to get results. They might not be huge, you may not become a millionaire over night, but when you do, you're going to have a great story to tell. I saw so many millionaires in that conference, and they all had their own personal stories, but the root of their stories was that they put their focus on their goals and they didn’t quit.

So if you take anything from this post:

  • “Honor yourself, honor your body, honor your spirit, and honor your goals.”
  • “Focus on each thing one at a time.”
  • “Be realistic with yourself.”

and

  • “Finish what you started!”

What Not To Do!

You can only quit in a business, you cannot fail.

  1. Stay off the internet.
  2. Stay away from toxic people.
  3. Raise your standards.
  4. Don’t control other people. Let leaders lead.
  5. Set the right example.
  6. Stop negotiating your price.
  7. Don’t judge anyone, don’t gossip.
  8. Learn how to communicate and connect with others.
  9. Always check your ego at the door. Ego and pride clouds and disturbs the atmosphere.
  10. No the difference between being right, and being righteous

This list was short sweet, and it really got to the point. These weren’t things that were unknown to me; they were really reminders. Reminders that I’m on the right track, and reminders to check in to see if I’ve been slacking in any of these areas. Before you read on, I want you to re-read the list. But this time read it out loud.

Do you connect with anything on the list? Did any one thing on this list jump out at you? Did you feel anything in your stomach area as you read? Did anything make you think back to a time in your life where one of these statements could’ve, or did help you in your life? If so, please share. I would love to hear about your experience.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.