Motivation logo

Finding the Motivation for Running

How could anyone get up and go on a run?πŸ˜…

By Katie FPublished 3 years ago β€’ 4 min read
Like
Finding the Motivation for Running
Photo by Bruno Nascimento on Unsplash

Often you may look to those so-called crazy people that are out on the streets running at 6 am (if you're able to get up to even see them!) and think why? What is the attraction? What could possibly motivate you to get up and go on a run? Who could enjoy doing that? But the truth is, there are lots of reasons why people run and maybe this article will help you find your motivation!

I am one of these 'crazy' people, even if it isn't at 6 in the morning (I'm a student; you're not likely to see me before 10!). But I HAVEN'T always been a runner. In fact, it is only in the last 4 years that I have properly gotten into running. Originally, I loved doing the 800m at school because running for up to 3 minutes wasn't long and boring and I would compete at this distance. The 1500m sometimes made me happy and other days felt like a half marathon...This was my 'Running Reality' for my first few years of secondary school. However, when it came to starting GCSE P.E. (qualification taken at age 15/16 in the UK), we had to do a Personal Exercise Programme and choose either muscular endurance or cardiovascular fitness to improve for our main sport. I chose cardiovascular fitness which meant that I HAD TO run. I spent 2 times a week and once out of school running; either doing continuous, fartlek or interval training. It was difficult and I didn't really know what I was doing but my P.E. teacher was amazing at motivating me. After the end of our 6-week programme, running had become a bit of a habit so I continued. My motivation at this point was still from my P.E. teacher; he loved to know how far I was running and what my times were. Then in the last year since leaving school and starting university, I slowly was starting to run for ME! Instead of any form of praise from this P.E. teacher, with whom I actually had a bit of a tricky situation (a story for another day!), I was truly doing it for my benefit, and the rest is history!

So enough about my journey with running...here's the technical stuff πŸ˜†.

Based on the Theory of Planned Behaviour (Azjen, 1991) there are 3 aspects that lead to our behaviour. Ultimately, these determine whether we will perform a certain activity or not; therefore, by understanding them we can adjust them so that we begin to partake in physical activity.

1) Attitude- what is your opinion of running? Is it favourable or disfavourable? This component is YOUR personal evaluation of what will happen if you run and how you feel about this outcome.

Really, it's your own motivators for the activity. Is it to lose weight? Is it to clear your mind and improve your mental health?

Many people may be concerned that they just can't run because their body will be tired. If you feel like this, we need to change your belief. Instead of those 'bodily aches' as a negative change it to a positive = 'my body is aching because it's working hard and therefore I'm improving my fitness'. As they say 'No pain, no gain!'

2) Subjective Norms - what do significant others think? Do they think that you should exercise? This component is what SOMEONE ELSE thinks but also involves YOU motivation to comply with what they say.

For example, your wife might think that running will help strengthen your bones and help you as you get older. One option is to agree and feel that you should be exercising, or, the less desirable option, would be to laugh and not really care what she says!

3) Perceived Behavioural Control - YOUR perception over how difficult something is to perform. Do you have the right skills? What are the barriers or opportunities?

Ultimately, running should be classed as 'easy' on the continuum because you just need a pair of trainers and off you go! If you do need help to overcome any barriers there is always someone who will be able to assist you in doing so. I refuse to listen to people who say they can't run when they are perfectly healthy...maybe they don't have the best technique but everyone has to start somewhere!

Continued Motivation

The Theory of Planned Behaviour may be enough motivation to keep you running but what really can help us maintain it?

Extrinsic VS. Intrinsic Motivation

When we start an activity our motivation is normally extrinsic (external) whether it be the praise of another person, a financial reward, a medal or an extra chocolate bar πŸ€ͺ! And this can be great at times but the ideal is really to have intrinsic (internal) motivation, which often makes as more likely to comply with our chosen activities. When we are intrinsically motivated we see the importance of our personal goals; there is the feeling of accomplishment, satisfaction, enjoyment and interest. This is what we all want to aim for!

Here are some tips to increase your intrinsic motivation, ultimately allowing you to continue running!

- Create your own goals! πŸ†

- Create challenge πŸ˜… = if there isn't then running can become monotonous very quickly!

- Focus on improving performance πŸƒπŸ½β€β™€οΈ - can you get in an extra km or run a minute quicker?

- Mix up your training πŸ’ͺ🏼 - continuous, fartlek, intervals? Can you do some hill sprints?

- Have a BREAK β˜•οΈ - allow your body to recover! Often people burn out when they try too hard.

If anyone needs any fitness tips you can check out my fitness page 🀞🏼:

Instagram: foxyfitness.x

Facebook: Foxy's Fitness πŸ’—

ο»Ώ

ο»Ώ

goals
Like

About the Creator

Katie F

Hi! Topics I'm passionate about include travel and education. I'm a student at Exeter University, studying Spanish and Sports Science. Before university, completed my A-Levels in Geography, Spanish, English Literature and BTEC in Sport.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.