Motivation logo

Fighting for Freedom

Heart vs. Mind

By Christina Marie MartinPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Today I woke up with this immense feeling of apathy. I felt a lot disconnected from my surrounding; a sense of longing in me for the dream world I woke up from. I sometimes feel as if that's the place I belong.

I have always been a big dreamer. I dream of love and adventures and places with no pain or sorrow. Then I wake up to a world full of memories and feel like its my punishment for existing.

But why do we have to feel like this? Why do we feel this need to be punished for being born into a world we cannot control? I am proud to admit though, that I am over coming the power my mind has over me. Yes, I awoke feeling lost and powerless. But I have a few tricks up my sleeve now that I utilize to make all these emotions beneficial. I use the user now.

All my life I have battled with my own mind, being a slave of sorts to a part of me that does not have my best interests at heart. This is because the mind and the heart are two completely separate entities. And you cannot serve them both. Where my heart wants me to be free, my mind wants me in chains. Where my heart wants me to see, my mind would rather me be blind. Where my heart wants to challenge me, my mind will be complacent. And I know that I am not the only one suffering from this war of the heart and mind. The entire world is battling this every day. Most of us just don't know that is what's going on. I was once incapacitated by my feelings. I understood this was just part of being human. Mental health was often thrown at me. I ate it all up in an attempt to "fix" myself. As I'm sure you will guess, it did nothing to heal what I had grown to call my broken mind.

But my mind was not broken. It was doing exactly what mind is supposed to do. It narrated my every move, every second of my life, according to what the world expected me to be.

The Heart does not do this. The Heart has its own way of speaking and it never narrates. Its sole purpose, or what I like to call Soul Purpose, is to show you who you are so you can take back the power over YOUR mind.

You see, we were never meant to be a slave to our own thoughts. We are the owner of the mind and it should obey us.

Imagine walking down a long hall. On either side the walls are covered with framed photographs, some are beautiful moments, while others not so fun to look at. But in all reality, you are in total control over whether or not you stop to gaze upon these pictures. This is what it should be like.

The mind though, would have us thinking that we are strapped to a chair, with our eyelids sewn open, while it plays a macabre best hits reel on a silver screen in front of us. What a bastard.

The Heart is the voice behind us in the hall that whispers the lesson or the blessing that we learned or received during each moment that particular photograph was taken.

The mind wants you to only focus on the bad moments and punish yourself for them.

The heart reminds you of the good moments and encourages you to even love yourself enough to let those go when you no longer need them.

It says, "You Are Enough."

Today affirm the power of the heart by saying to yourself:

I Am Love.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Christina Marie Martin

I am a hopeful woman with a past full of moments that shaped me into the loving, kind and compassionate writer I am today. I have a passion for words, truth and life. I want to change your world with my words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.