Motivation logo

Earth: The Lost Community

I miss the innocence.

By MoriaCavandishPublished 6 years ago 4 min read

I used to say that it's the world around me, but now I can't hide it anymore. It's me, all me. I remember being young, happy, carefree. Lost in the wonder of the world and people in it. I miss that feeling; you know the one. Wanderlust, awe, or should I say awestruck at the world around us. Even the smallest creation was amazing: a ladybug landing on your arm, how we would watch with amazement then giggle when it tippy toed across our skin. Then we would watch it fly away, and we would wave.

I miss the innocence. What's sadder is that we can't go back, once we've seen the darkness it changes us our view on our surroundings is spoiled.

There were no phones to interrupt our imaginations. No one texting us, no one checking up on us. No, we were the kings and queens of our world. Battling imaginary dragons, building tree forts, and running through trails with my sisters. Poor sweet sister, how did that slug taste? No fear, we roamed the power lines, the thick dangerous forests, even the mountains. But we survive, of course, a few scratches and maybe a surprise meeting with a bear along the way.

Life certainly was easier, but of course we were children, and we had no idea how hard being an adult was. I can't tell you how many times I have caught myself thinking, "I am done adulting now, give me a popsicle and I’m going out to play!” Let's face it, we have all starred out that window at work and thought we were wasting the day. We really are. Were we meant to work 70 hours a week, for what? To pay for that house, the boat, the timeshare. Problem is, my friend, you spend your life paying for those things and never have time to enjoy them. That sounds fun! Sign me up please!

I mean, it's bad enough that technology has made us zombies. I knew that I'd see a zombie apocalypse before I died! We walk around stunned passing faces that could be friends and lovers. I feel like I am being pushed, herded like cattle in a direction where you simply clap your hands or say 'lights on Alexa, put my music on, turn my TV up.' Lazy bastards, did your feet stop working? You can't get up and turn the music on? Fingers broken? We have gone past lazy to sloth, my friends. Our bodies are science projects with all the chemicals and crap we eat through the animals we torture and drug for the sake of industry. Bigger, better, faster, now now now! After we have filled our faces with Big Macs and Whoppers, super sizing ourselves almost to death, we don't even have to do the work to get back in shape. We just skip down to the local chop shop and have something nipped or tucked, waxed or peeled. It makes me shudder, folks!

Then there is our government. I take a deep breath when I say this. Can you do a better job? No? Then shut up! I would not want to be a politician in this day and age. Most are corrupt beyond help, and even the good ones really can't do much because they spent most of their time in office, cleaning up the last guy's mess. If you think you can do better, run for office. Can we go back to being kids again? It didn't matter the color of your skin or your beliefs; as long as you had a towel for a cape you were in! Nobody went hungry and everyone watched out for everyone else. I think that we have lost sight of the bigger picture, humanity. We have forgotten how to love ourselves and others. I feel moments of joy through watching someone helping someone across the street. Stopping to rescue animals. I have seen the strength and unity of man. We need to stop fighting and disrespecting each others faiths and beliefs. We are all amazingly different and have something to teach one another. Most native cultures believe that we are caretakers of this earth, that is our only job, and that no one owns the earth. So then why do we pay for land, food, homes? Why do we scream and hate others for their spiritual beliefs? We can all live in the same world, the same community; that is why we have so many places of worship. Christian, Buddhist, Protestant, the list goes on. There is a place for all to worship, so why are we demanding one faith be more important? Do you know which religion is right? All of them. It is not the name of your Savior or Goddess or gods, it's how you respect them, the world, and the people around us. That's what it's truly about.

It is not what you do when others are watching, it’s how you act when no one is there.

happiness

About the Creator

MoriaCavandish

Born and raised on the beautiful West Coast in British Columbia Canada

All stories, poems, erotica and works are the sole property of

Moria Cavandish 2004- 2023

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MoriaCavandishWritten by MoriaCavandish

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.