Motivation logo

Drawing Inspiration From the Life of Anne Frank

We can learn so much from her story

By Erin MixonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Like many of you, I read The Diary of Anne Frank in school. While I remembered the gist of the story, many of the details had faded.

But a recent discovery brought Anne back into the news this week.

Researchers believe they may have uncovered the person responsible for betraying Anne and her family (although this information has not been confirmed).

The man’s name is Arnold van den Bergh — a Jewish figure in Amsterdam. He is believed to possibly have betrayed Anne’s family in order to save his own.

I honestly woke up this morning thinking low thoughts and focusing on everything wrong with my life.

It was quite pathetic…

Then I saw a news report about Anne Frank. They showed the secret annex where she and her family lived.

I was struck by how incredibly small and cramped the space was, and I wondered how they were able to live there for two years.

Then I was reminded of the fact that they had to sit in silence and not talk during the daytime…every day for two years.

I can’t imagine what that was like.

Despite the circumstances, Anne remained hopeful and optimistic and believed that things would ultimately get better.

Still, sadly, after two years, she and her family were sent to the concentration camps and their lives were taken.

After being reminded of these details, I felt so selfish and foolish for feeling ungrateful and depressed about the current state of my life.

Looking at what Anne endured reminded me that I actually have so much for which to be grateful.

I have a roof over my head and food in my stomach every night and day. Anytime I want to go outside and breathe in fresh air and take in some sunlight, I’m free to do so whenever I choose.

If I want to burst into song at any given moment throughout the day — I’m free to do so.

I can also laugh and joke and talk as loudly as I want.

I am truly blessed.

Moreover, while my life is not perfect and is not everything I would like it to be, as long as I wake up every day with breath in my lungs, I have the ability to do something to improve and make the state of my life better.

Unfortunately, this is no longer an option for Anne Frank (or any other person that has been called back home to the welcoming arms of the creator).

Anne longed for the days when she would be out of the annex and back into the real world. She had so many hopes and dreams for her future.

Anne dreamed of being back in school with all her friends. She dreamt of going to school dances and football games.

She wanted a boyfriend and had hopes of attending the prom and graduation.

Sadly, Anne never got to see this reality.

Meanwhile you and I are so blessed to have time to work at making our dreams a reality.

So I urge each and every one of you today to seize the day and to make the most of the time you have left.

You owe it to Anne and to those who have already transitioned from this life to make the most of your time.

But most of all, you owe it to yourself.

So whatever you want to do, whatever you want to see and be…whatever makes you smile…

Do it, see it, be it…go after it!

Because you are indeed blessed, and you have been blessed with another day and more time to live your best life!

Carpe diem everyone.

Seize the day!

The time is now!

Comment down below if you are ready to seize the day. What dreams are you going to work towards with your remaining time?

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Erin Mixon

I am a blogger and inspirational writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.