Motivation logo

Don't Worry Be Happy

No Time Like The Present

By Paula WinemillerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The first step in to not worrying and being happy is to have no worries. I know that is easier said than done. It is like someone once told me “Why borrow worry?” I have also heard it said that worry will still your joy. Here are a few ideas of how to keep your worrying in check so it does not steal all your joy: therefor, allowing you to be happy. One suggestion I have is to schedule a certain amount of time for worrying. Let us say 10 min a day. I found this helpful because sometimes worrying can easily become an obsessive behavior for some. Also, you can analyze your worries for validity to determine how likely they are to come true. This can be helpful to determine how much if any time needs to be devoted to worrying. You can also brainstorm possible solutions to your worries. Sometimes there are no solutions, and that is okay, that is when you need to learn to let it go and realize sometimes somethings are beyond our control. When we learn to “let go” it can be a very liberating experience. Vengeance is mine saith the Lord. One of the things I have learned with age is to roll with the flow.

Another step in to not worrying and being happy is not to sweat the small stuff. This is easier said than done sometimes. Sometimes it is the little things we think we can control that will get us every time. I used to let this drive me crazy. Another thing I have learned with age is that it does not do any good to get upset over things I have no control over. I think our human nature is to make a “mountain out of a mole hill.” Over half of the stuff that happens to us is not as bad as we make it out to be. It is like someone once told me “you don’t know what you don’t know.”

A third step in to not worrying and being happy is “to go to your happy place.” I have to go there a lot. Especially more so over the past year than every before. I was going to my happy place before I knew it was called that. Being in negative situations can cause us to worry. People are going to be people no matter where you are. It is like the old saying goes “You can pick your friends, you can pick your nose, but you can’t pick your friend’s nose.” I stop worrying a long time ago what people thought about me. My mom always said that people is either going to like me for who I am or they are not going to like me at all. I have found it helpful to find that calming quiet place inside of me that helps me deal with the difficult situations that come my way.

Our perception, or the way we choose to look at things, can help us to worry less and be happy more. One way to do this is to look at things as if the “Glass is always half full.” Another way I do this is to look at it as “it could always be worst.” I worked for a guy once and he could always see the positive in everything no matter what came his way. It is like one of my favorite president’s said once “A pessimist is one who makes difficulties of his opportunities and an optimist is one wo makes opportunities of his difficulties.”

So remember, don’t worry be happy. 😊

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.