Motivation logo

Do You Want to Be a Dream Catcher

A not something you see in your sleep-A true story. dream is

By Prasanniya NadarajaPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Do You Want to Be a Dream Catcher
Photo by Saad Chaudhry on Unsplash

Abdul Kalam

Dream. Dreaming is not something you see in your sleep. Anything that keeps you awake is a dream. Ideal dream”- Abdul Kalam

When I was at the hostel, my father sent me letters outlining the best verses in Abdul Kalam’s “Wings of Fire.”

Abdul Kalam is one of my favorites. A very simple human being. Minimalist. If we had any of his characteristics, that would make this earth a suitable place for humans to live. I cried for the first time for an outsider on the day he died.

His mantra was “to dream.” As I have already said in my previous article, I have a slight interest in astrology. As per astrology, I was born under the moon’s domination. It means I have high levels of imagination. Dreaming is my nature and hobby. I saw it, and I still see dreams.

The Life with Books

The essence of many of the books I read from a young age is to captivate the mind and enrich life.

When I was nine, before reading all these books, I saw a helicopter flying. I thought it would be nice to see if cars are flying with wings too. Others said don’t dream about something that won’t happen.

Today, flying cars are almost ready for sale.

It is almost 20 years. I am happy that my dream came true by some other. Patience is essential when progressing your dream.

What I dream to become

I was having a month-long vacation when I was eleven. We didn’t have electricity those days. So, I read books. Even at night, with a kerosene lamplight.

I had the most famous children’s books in the Tamil language. Tenali Raman, Peerbal, and Mariyathairaman, to mention a few.

As I already finished reading them, I started reading on life, success, and philosophy. Too heavy for an eleven-year-old girl. But it sure was a turning point for me.

The Indian author Abdul Rahim’s book “Success in Life” was my favorite. It introduced many great people. Historical figures such as Thomas Alva Edison, Former great US presidents Roosevelt, Abraham Lincoln, Winston Churchill, Lenin, Karl Marx, Napoleon, Wright brothers began to occupy my thoughts.

I admired Abraham Lincoln a lot. I felt marginalized, too, at school, for being poor and dark. Most who studied with me are wealthy city students. Lincoln is the icon in fighting against discrimination. He is still close to my heart to this day.

Photo by Pixabay from Pexels

I had a dream to rule this world. So, I dreamed of becoming the President of the United States. I envisioned myself living in a ten thousand-story building. Dreams have no limits, right? I also had a vision of traveling around the world in my flying car. I dreamed that all celebrities of the world were waiting to see me. I t

hought it could teach a lesson to those who discouraged me. I dreamed of being humble and accessible for innocent people. Day by day, I dreamed of building a community that values equality.

At that time, my father checked the horoscope for me. He told my mother about it. I still think it’s a lie, and

he purposefully told her so that I can hear. He said that I am a good girl, and if I focus on education, I will rule the world one day. I did not have any option. I believed it.

If parents could seed good thoughts in a child’s mind, it could forever elevate their lives. This is a solid fact. I fixed it as my goal that day.

I had my dream continuing for months. Then I returned to the hostel. I imagined more because I didn’t have many friends back then. It was my antidote for loneliness. Every morning and evening, I prayed to God to achieve my aim. One day, my class teacher asked for the goals of all students. Everyone said many great answers. They were saying teacher, singer, administrator, doctor, and engineer. I stood up and said I wanted to be the “President of the United States.” Until that day, my aim was a secret only I knew. Everyone started laughing as soon as they heard my ambition.

All is Well

I’m a different person in the classroom. The books I read have made me think more philosophically. If someone in the school is upset, I will say, “everything is for good.” Some students started to hate me. The books I read did not help to join their hands at that time.

I have become a character for everyone for my ambition. I was tolerating humiliation for about one or two years after this.

At the age of fourteen, a rich gang came up to me and said, “Are you crazy? Don’t you know the reality? Can a woman become the President of a foreign country?.

I was furious; I shouted at them. Because I firmly believed in my dream.

Me and the Election

Teachers announced a model election in our class. It was to help us understand how democracy works. Guess what if I am a presidential candidate.

Some well-wishers of me proposed my name. Oh my god, it is a miracle for me. I believed that my prayers for my ambition started to work. I was happy to say that.

I informed this happy news to my father. He then wrote me a big letter. He explained how to face the election, how to speak in front of people. He again quoted my dream leader Abraham Lincoln goes to the forest and rehearse for hours before speaking to people. He wrote me very encouraging words.

I never hesitated to speak on stage. But there was little fear with me of losing the election due to a lack of close friends. I thought it was okay and have to accept whatever the result. I really imagined myself as a leader and spearheaded the election campaign alone.

For other candidates, their friends helped to make posters and campaigns. I may be the only candidate in the world who has prepared an election poster of my own. I’m a little stubborn, too. I made promises that came to my mind that I was sure I would do and practical. For example, I said I would divide mathematics books into 2 parts next year. As a magic Government, put in place it next year. Believe me.

The Dream Came True

Election day has come.

The teacher announced that the then sectional head would come in person. She will also offer a gift to the person elected as the President.

Election votes were being counted — another twist from the course teacher. The President must get more than 50 percent of the vote count. I don’t think even a tiny 5% in that class would vote for me. But I was wrong.

54% of people from my class voted for me. I was so excited to see that.

The sectional head put a gold shawl on me and congratulated me. That was the first honor I remember and addressed in front of students and teachers. I truly believed that I would be even more determined to be President of the United States one day.

When I was 19, Barack Obama became the President of the United States and made history. In November 2020, Kamala Harris became the first female Vice President. She is also an Asian American. The highlight in her first speech was “I may be the first woman vice president. But not the last.” said.

The Conclusion

When you read this, don’t get me wrong. As this is a real story, I couldn’t lie to you. So I wrote who I was and what I felt as a child. My dream is no longer to get into power. But the values behind why I had those dreams remain. This story’s purpose and I want to let you know that there are so many dreams in your home too with your children. Help them grow.

I am 30 now. My experience and thoughts have grown up, and many of my dreams changed, developed. Many of my dreams are not yet come true. This is a world full of wonders. I will continue to dream. You too be a “Dream Catcher”

. . .

Thank you for reading!

This article originally published in Medium.

Say Hello to me on LinkedIn, Twitter, and Medium.

If you loved this one, you may also check out my other stories.

self help
1

About the Creator

Prasanniya Nadaraja

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.