Motivation logo

Deadlines

Choices

By Jean SumrallPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Deadlines
Photo by ThisisEngineering RAEng on Unsplash

DEADLINES

There are times we encounter moments when we must accomplish something on a set schedule. These can include projects for work, family or personal that need to be done by a certain time or day.

How we choose to deal with the time restrictions is up to us. If our boss brings us a new task with a short deadline, we feel we have no choice but to drop everything else to work on it. The challenge of completing the assignment is on our shoulders and we don’t want to let our boss down or else face the unpleasant consequences if we don’t complete it on time.

Family has a way of interrupting our available time with requests that we may or may not want to do. It can be difficult to say no to our relatives. Depending on whether we feel we can accomplish what is asked of us, depends on how much we want to do the job needed. And yes, family will often ask us to provide a service for free that they could afford to pay for.

These requests can put us in an uncomfortable situation. They frequently happen after we have put in a long, hard day already at our regular job. We feel resentful at the seeming imposition, but we don’t want to disappoint our family, so we do it anyway. Whether we want to do the requested service or not, we feel we can’t win. We are damned if we do and damned if we don’t.

We also set our own deadlines in our lives. We all have things we want to do by a set time or day. Many times, we will push these tasks toward the end of the time limit we have set. There are things we really want to do and things we would rather not do in our lives. We tend to do the things we want to first and put them at the top of our list. Those tasks we don’t want to do, we procrastinate and wait until the last possible moment for us to get it done.

The requests made by family or work, get done when they need to be done, because we choose not to face the consequences of not completing the demand. Our own deadlines can cause us to feel some distress in meeting them. Sometimes we choose not to take the desired action because of outsides events we have no control over. We stress out over thoughts we might not get it done when we know it needs to be done. Fear sets in, immobilizing any thought of taking action.

What can we do in these situations? I recently got through a busy week of meeting my own set deadlines. I wasn’t sure I could get everything done by the time I felt it needed to be completed. Stress was beginning to preoccupy my mind. In a moment of panic and fear, I called on God for help.

Now, I’m not a religious person. I have never felt I belonged in church but always connected with God or my Creator out in nature. I’m not sure what made me call on my Creator for help, but I did. And miraculously, my request was granted.

I settled my mind and sat still, as if waiting for an answer. Before I knew it, I was moved to work on one of the projects I needed to complete. It went much easier than I had thought it would and was soon finished. Then each subsequent project seemed to flow as I worked one each one as I felt directed to do.

When I stopped resisting and moved into acceptance, the fear and stress blocks were removed. The divine stepped in, arranged my schedule for me and provided the motivation to do each thing I needed to accomplish before it needed to be done. It was an amazing week, satisfying and enjoyable.

We are not taught to ask for help from the unseen in our lives. Many of us learn not to ask for help at all as often our own requests are met with “sorry, don’t have the time” or just a flat out “no” by the people in our life. Yet when we make a sincere request for assistance from the divine power in our life, we do receive what we need when we need it.

So, whatever you call your creator, make your request with sincerity. Ask, make your request and wait. Let go of fear and stress. Believe. Keep your faith strong. The answer you seek or the assistance you need will be there. And when it does show up, always remember to say, “thank you

advice
1

About the Creator

Jean Sumrall

I have led an amazing life with many varied interests including loving road trips, being a professional belly dancer, hand carving selenite, providing wise woman advice and intuitive readings for current problems. I love my life. Do you?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.