Motivation logo

Dancing in the Rain

no rain, no flowers

By Lazy PerfectionistPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Rainy days used to spark a sense of dread within me. There's something about the cold, wet, grey days that makes me want to hide in bed. Time to wrap myself up in a fuzzy blanket and cocoon until the sun comes back out. These kind of days are the norm for me. I have suffered from depression for many years, and frankly, I will take any excuse to crawl back into my safe, warm bed and avoid the world. As much as I know that I'm not alone in these feelings, sometimes its hard to imagine not feeling like a failure. Motivation is limited most days... if I show up on time to a planned engagement or even to work, its a bit of a miracle.

When COVID-19 first blew up, I was overwhelmed by the information and fear mongering being force fed into my brain. I am no stranger to the soul-sucking phone scroll, but the amount of misinformation had me thinking the worst. I was ready to hunker down and hide out in my bedroom until this all blew over. My mind raced for days on end, and I tried to distract myself by taking care of my basic needs. I was not ready in the slightest for my busy life to come to a sudden halt. I've since learnt that when you aren't ready for it, life still has a way of guiding you towards your next journey.

Prior to the start of the pandemic, I was working two jobs. I worked 7 days a week for some time, but felt the burnout really hard by the start of the new year. I began to take one day off. One day of rest. I had no idea, that what I really needed was a break from life. I am one of those people who is always on the go and I didn't know how to slow down. I came into the start of the year, on edge, anxious and avoidant. My relationship was hot/cold, and left me questioning my value and self-worth more often than I care to admit. At the start of March, my boyfriend of two years called it quits. I can't say I blame him. It's no fun being around an insecure person who's essentially a ticking time bomb. I had busied myself so much that I didn't feel at ease when I had downtime, if anything, I found myself feeling lost and without a purpose.

So I am stuck at home at the start of quarantine, basically sleeping my days away. I wasn't able to realize at the time that this was absolutely necessary. I was too stuck in the spiral of self-loathing and continued to avoid my problems. After maybe 2 weeks, I had a sudden burst of energy; I was keen on going for walks, cooking myself proper meals, and even tidying my space. It wasn't just that one day I woke up and was rid of depression, but my body and mind felt more awake than ever. I was finally given time to deal with my shit, feel my feelings and find more positive coping strategies. I woke up after noon most days, but instead of kicking myself, I began to practice self love and compassion. I wouldn't continue to be my own bully, but began to praise myself for doing what I needed in that moment (whether it was sleeping in, skipping a meal, or even just stepping out for a cigarette).

After 3 weeks, I returned to work and things began to seem a little more structured. I have craved structure for a long while, but felt a constant struggle to implement the changes in my life for this to be effective. I learnt that the best way to motivate myself to do things a little different, was to simply love myself a little more. I had spent years at war with myself and self-sabotaging every chance I got. This became so second nature, that I only ever realized when my partner would point it out to me. I was setting myself up to fail in varying areas of my life. I had unrealistic expectations I had set for myself, and was stuck on how I wasn't able to meet them.

I have seen therapists, doctors, life coaches, etc etc but I realized an important thing after I took a look back recently. If you don't love yourself, you are setting yourself up for failure before you even start the race. I was expecting that if I paid a professional to help me shake my depression and associated symptoms, that I would be happy. Ultimately, that happiness was always in reach. I was just not looking inward for answers. I was seeking validation elsewhere in life, but still wondered why I felt so empty.

Today, instead of looking out at the grey, rainy day as another reason to feel defeated... I threw on my raincoat and danced like a crazy person while the rain came down. I wasn't worried that my neighbours were perhaps getting a chuckle, or if my cigarette wasn't hitting just right. I simply took the time to enjoy another day in my life. I am still a work in progress, but the time I was given to reconnect with myself, well it saved my life.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Lazy Perfectionist

Creative being with an anxious mind.

Cuddles and kitties put a smile on my face.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.