Motivation logo

Balance Is Key

Let go of what you can't control.

By Lazy PerfectionistPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Balance... This has always been a personal struggle for me. I am one to want to have control over every situation or I feel uneasy. There are so many aspects in life which are out of our hands and it causes us major discomfort to try to resist. I try to think of it in terms of a flowing river. It is better to surrender and enjoy the ride than to battle the current and force change to happen. When you go with the flow, you allow life to take you to places you hadn't necessary planned, but you end up where you are meant to be.

I am a firm believer that wherever you are right now, in this very moment, is where you are meant to be. Even if you are not in an ideal situation, you are learning a lesson. Every job, relationship, interaction, or conflict is teaching us something about ourselves. Your surroundings contribute to your personal well-being, but ultimately, your mind has more power than you could ever imagine.

I will use my own living situation as an example. I have been living in a foreign place, renting a space short term. I spent the first few months being sour at my roommate for living differently than myself and disrupting my peace at home. Ultimately, months passed and I realized by addressing these things and trying to change her, I was doing no good. I am now ready to move onto my next chapter. By letting go of control and focusing on what I could personally do to make my surroundings more comfortable, I was able to find peace and comfort even in a disruptive environment. This may be easier said than done in some cases, but I found my own peace. I am ready to move into my new home, which again will be short term. I intend on enjoying every silent moment I can get and continue to be appreciative that I have a roof over my head.

In the past, I was very consumed with having everything in my life in order. This is a process. Over time, I realize more and more that it all happens in time. Nothing will be perfect, and ultimately perfection shouldn't be the end goal. Progress, no matter how fast or slow, is all we can work towards. For myself, moving forward in life and finding my own peace of mind is all I can hope for.

Life lessons are a result of experiencing new interactions and experiences. I consider it to be "lifelong" learning, as we are gaining new skills and learning to adapt every day of our lives. School aged children may learn basic skills, but as adults, we are learning problem solving skills on a whole new level. In every single thing we experience (whether it be a bad driver in the mall parking lot, or a disagreement at work or with a friend), we make the conscious decision to act or react. I have been practicing mindfulness this year and one major thing I have learned is to take a few moments before reacting to any situation. We often make promises when we are happy, and react poorly when we are in a bad mood. There is a choice—to react purely based on emotions, or to let your brain do what's best for you. Either way, my stance hasn't changed... whatever is meant to be will be. Where you are this moment is where you were meant to be. The experiences in your life (good or bad) are helping you grow and learn the lessons intended to shape you into a fuller person. The bad doesn't always seem beneficial, but without it, we would not appreciate all the good in our lives for what it is worth.

Thanks for reading and I wish for everyone to resist a little less and enjoy what you have in front of you today. Being present and grateful changes your perspective and can bring so much joy into your already full live.

Much love,

The Lazy Perfectionist

healing
Like

About the Creator

Lazy Perfectionist

Creative being with an anxious mind.

Cuddles and kitties put a smile on my face.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.