Motivation logo

Dance Til You Drop

A celebration of love

By Ebony DavisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
photo courtesy of The Atlantic

LGBTQIA Pride, at the heart of it, has always been a celebration of love and acceptance. We honor the legacy that the late Marsha P. Johnson, Sylvia Rivera, and the still living Miss Major, have left behind. Without the efforts of these three women and countless other black and brown queer and transgender people, we would not have the rights that we have today. Our very existence is radical and worthy of celebrating, and what better way to celebrate than by dancing and partying throughout the entire month of June?

Here are some of my personal Pride dance anthems that I feel that everyone should listen to. I hope that you enjoy and groove along with me.

1. A Deeper Love (Tribesman Remix) - Aretha Franklin

Listen, as far as Pride anthems go, this is probably my favorite one. Aretha Franklin vocals backed by heavy drums on a house beat, is just *chef's kiss* perfection. There's nothing us gays love more than house music and Aretha Franklin and this remix is the perfect combination of both. This song is a celebration of life and love, and exudes everything that Pride is about.

2. You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real) - Sylvester

There's just something about disco and Pride that just....goes together. And Sylvester (R.I.P) is the glue that keeps it together. Every time I hear this song, I imagine myself voguing in a gold sequin shirt with black leather pants up and down Christopher Street. It just fits! Make sure to add this song to your Pride playlist, darlings. You won't regret it.

3. Alejandro - Lady Gaga

I'd bet my next paycheck that you're singing the lyrics right now. What Pride playlist would be complete without Lady Gaga? This song ran on repeat during my entire senior year of high school (I should have known then that I wasn't straight). The sad lyrics backed with thumping base is a perfect backdrop for every Pride party held this month. Also, the video is full of gorgeous and muscled men. So bonus points.

4. In My House - Mary Jane Girls

You've probably heard this song on the premiere episode of the iconic show, Pose. Or maybe you've heard it prior to Pose. Regardless of where you heard it, this song is perfect for your Pride playlist. You can pretend to be as fabulous as Mother Elektra Abundance - although you know truthfully, you'll never be as fabulous as her.

5. Music - Madonna

Of course I had to add Madonna. This song perfect is for pregaming with your friends as you get ready for a night of partying. Every time I listen to it, I can imagine me and my friends playing this song on a portable speaker on the C train headed to West Village. Ready to dance the entire night away.

6. Throb - Janet Jackson

Janet Jackson has been a longtime fan favorite of the LGBTQIA community. Her activism and support over the years has definitely cemented her as an ally towards our cause. Not to mention, she's the queen of dance bangers. This song will have you sweating out your favorite outfit and it'll be totally worth it. Catch me on the dance floor sweating and dance battling everyone in my vicinity.

7. Good Life - Inner City

This song is definitely a Pride staple. House music has always been a staple of the LGBTQIA scene, and Kevin Saunderson's (one half of Inner City) contribution has definitely cemented that. This song talks of having a better life, a life full of happiness and joy, all things that those in the LGBTQIA community dream and hope for everyday. This is why we celebrate how we've come and the fact that our hope for a better tomorrow is becoming more and more of a reality.

8. 100% Pure Love - Crystal Waters

Rounding us off, we have long time LGBTQIA ally, Crystal Waters. I was introduced to her as a kid and then reintroduced to her during my first Pride Parade here in NYC. Another one of my favorite dance anthems of Pride. Also, this music video is just so....gay. Which is why I love it.

While this is not a complete list of songs that I think are perfect for Pride, I hope that I've at least inspired you to get up and dance. This is a perfect time to celebrate life, being alive, and surviving a global pandemic. I hope you all have a fun and safe Pride. Stay sickening, my loves!

happiness
4

About the Creator

Ebony Davis

A bisexual and non-binary artist, actor, and photographer residing in Brooklyn.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.