Motivation logo

Crossroads

"Don't think. Just do."

By Ali GillPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
At this point, I am kind of wishing that there is also a desert to the other side of me and that I could just stick my head in the sand instead.

What a big day for me. I am at a crossroads. The end of another year, Christmas and celebration looming. I do not feel like celebrating. No, actually I do. I am celebrating the changes to come. I am certainly not celebrating my life as it is today, but what is to come; well, that surely is worth celebrating?

Carrie Green said that visualisation is almost as good as action; your mind cannot separate the two. Your mind will believe that you have completed that action, performed that behaviour, and experienced that event. How powerful? That you can trick your mind into believing you have experienced something that you simply have not. Not yet.

I listened, no participated is a better word, in Carrie Green's goal planning workshop yesterday, and although it hasn't changed my life yet, I truly believe that it will. As I sat in my small flat, alone in the middle of a cold, winter's day, I visualised the feeling of having achieving all of my goals for 2018. Champagne glass in hand, warm, smiles all around me, the comfortability, the relaxation, the sheer happiness; I almost welled up. I wanted that feeling of content and happiness and I knew then that I was going to have it.

But how? I hear you shout. I want to write that I am not in the business of worrying about "how" and that if I believe then my dreams will just play out all by themselves, unfortunately that is not in my nature. I am a problem solver and I immediately did what you probably did and shouted but how? And of course Carrie Green told me exactly that. Write down your top three goals then write down the tiniest steps that you can take from today to get there. Now you may have 10,000 goals just like me and I think that just means we may have our work cut out. But why not dream big?

"Don't think. Just do." I decided that was going to be my motto for 2018 and Carrie's was, of course, "Dream big. Why not." Both so poignant for me and affirmations that I will be repeating to myself throughout the year and when times get tough. I wonder what yours will be?

I am at a crossroads; I am stuck within a career that I can't stand, I am stuck in a relationship that is holding me back, and I am stuck thinking I know I am made for more. I have a straight road in front of me that is smooth and grey as far as the eye can see and then slightly to the side of that road is another, an uneven grassy track with rocks and potholes and then far into the distance a lush, green oasis with wild flowers and birds overhead. Am I to carry on plodding down the smooth, grey road? Or take a chance at a new and exciting road, with plenty of rocks and potholes in my way but at the end that lush, green oasis?

At this point, I am kind of wishing that there is also a desert to the other side of me and that I could just stick my head in the sand instead. We all get that feeling once in a while, I am sure there are people who permanently live in the sand. Stuck, slipping, sinking. That is sure not a way I want to live. I want to run, with the wind in my hair and not miss a moment of the journey. I am sure you are now thinking how abstract and unobtainable and we would all like that in an ideal world. But why not dream big?

The reason why I love Carrie Green so much is that one she speaks a lot of sense of course and two she empowers and motivates women. I love that I have just gotten into a business of my own where the basis is empowering and motivating women, that is kind of my job now. So if she can do it then why can't I and why can't you? You can do anything you want! This is when my motto comes in: "Don't think. Just do." Because a lot of you will have those goals, aspirations, and dreams in your head now, and then within five seconds you have thought about all the reasons why you cannot achieve all of those things. We overthink and I am the worst for it and that is why I know if I want to achieve my goals in 2018 that I need to get out of my head and just take action. Take action. Now.

advice

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ali GillWritten by Ali Gill

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.