Motivation logo

Creative Entitlement

creativity is a right, not a privilege

By Kaitlyn DawnPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Creative Entitlement
Photo by Jared Subia on Unsplash

I had never heard this phrase -- "creative entitlement" -- until reading Big Magic ... but I could see others holding this misconception about creativity.

"Creative entitlement doesn’t mean behaving like a princess, or acting as though the world owes you anything whatsoever. No, creative entitlement simply means believing that you are allowed to be here, and that -- merely by being here -- you are allowed to have a voice and a vision of your own."

There are some creatives who believe creativity is a privilege -- that there are only a few select/special people in this world who have "the gift", and that's it. "Talent is genetic", "Creativity isn't for everyone", "Everyone should stay in their lane","Don't even bother trying" ... maybe you've heard some of these said to you before (or a variation of them)?

As a Life & CREATIVITY Coach, I know this is not the case. We are ALL born creative -- it's an innate trait passed on to EVERYONE. We may have different ways of showcasing our creative ideas -- unique ways of expressing ourselves -- but we are all creative. So, to the people who claim they are not, it is my mission to help you see that you really ARE a creative individual.

So, back to this idea that creativity is "a privilege" ... it is not. It is absolutely a RIGHT to share your gift with the world and to have your voice heard.

You don't need my permission, or Elizabeth Gilbert's permission, or anyone else's permission, to pursue your passions and dreams ... but I understand (in fact, I've been there). You might be waiting, or even actively searching, for some sort of validation. "I want to start writing my book, but I don't know if it's the right time" ... it is the right time! "I want to take this painting course, but I don't know if I should" ... if you really want to do it, yes, you should take it! Whatever thought you've had around creativity, whatever your dream or desire, pursue it!

Be creatively entitled! You were put on this Earth to create. As part of being a human, you have the right to use your voice -- whether that's through speaking or writing, or some other medium to spread you message with the world. Please, on behalf of the world ... use your voice!

Use Affirmations as a First Step

If you're still feeling unsure -- not fully believing you can be the creative that I know you are -- start by declaring yourself as a creative anyways. In the mirror, just to yourself. I've been learning about affirmations this past year, and the idea is that you're not phrasing things in the way of "I want X to happen"; affirmations are phrased as though they are already reality.

Now, full disclosure, I am not a Manifestation/Law of Attraction expert, and you may wish to do more research first (understandable!). What I can say though is that Gilbert has simple "I am" statements listed in her book, in the section where she talks about "declaring your intent" as a creative. I've seen some longer/more complex affirmations, but as a coach, I am in love with these simple statements. Smart small, work your way up.

For me, if I would use "I am a writer" -- writing is my main outlet for creativity and self-expression, and I'm always looking for ways to improve as a writer, and to achieve my dream one day of publishing a novel. If I was testing out a new outlet (let's say dance, for example), and needing some confidence as I was practicing this new skill, I would use "I am a dancer" ... I might even go crazy and add an adjective or two, like "I am a graceful dancer". Basically, you're putting the positive vibes into the world. (We love the positive vibes!)

I Challenge You

I want to challenge anyone who's reading this to declare their creative intent on social media! "I am a _____!" ... You can start with the affirmation in the mirror first (get some practice in), but once you start to truly believe it internally, go on and shout it to the world.

And if you do this on Instagram or TikTok, I'd love it if you tagged me @kaitlyndawn.coach

(Note: This is my third article relating to BIG MAGIC. The first, Hidden Jewels, is about creative living, and the second, Ideas are Searching ... for YOU, is about the importance of being open and relaxed so new ideas may pay us visits. If you enjoyed this article, please go check out the other two!)

advice
1

About the Creator

Kaitlyn Dawn

27, Canadian, she/her

Life & Creativity Coach

reader, writer, and lover of words

https://www.kaitlyndawn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.