Motivation logo

Ideas are Searching ... for YOU

why living in the moment is crucial for creativity

By Kaitlyn DawnPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
Ideas are Searching ... for YOU
Photo by Ameen Fahmy on Unsplash

Knock knock.

Who's there?

An idea!

... You should probably answer that; it seems important.

I love how Elizabeth Gilbert personifies "ideas" in her book, Big Magic -- as though they are entities in search for an individual who they can collaborate with, in order to bring them to life.

"When an idea thinks it has found somebody -- say, you -- who might be able to bring it into the world, the idea will pay you a visit."

You see, the idea will try to get our attention, however it can; the universe will send us all sorts of messages. But, as Gilbert points out, we won't always notice -- when we're consumed by "dramas, anxieties, distractions, insecurities, and duties", the idea will pass us by. Sure, we'll be given SOME time to notice and acknowledge -- maybe a few months, or maybe only a few moments -- but once it realizes we're oblivious and unreceptive, the idea will need to move on to someone else ... someone who is ready to manifest and make it real.

In order to give the idea the signal that we are ready and willing, we need to be in a positive state -- "open and relaxed".

Now, I'm here speaking as someone who lives with anxiety; I have my good days and my bad. I am also guilty of distracting myself from the world, particularly by putting on back-to-back movies. (I could easily watch four films in one day ... and even call it "research" for my next creative project.)

These are just a couple examples of how we could miss an idea's signal. Gilbert mentions "watching TV, or shopping, or brooding over how angry you are at somebody, or pondering your failures and mistakes, or just generally really busy" as potential reasons.

There's no such thing as a perfect life. We can do our best to design our ideal creative lifestyle, to maximize the creative process -- returning an idea's signal, and transforming the idea from concept to creation. At the end of the day, however, we can't expect EVERY idea to be ours. So don't beat yourself up for missing one here and one there ... BUT ...

If you know, deep down, that many ideas have passed you by (for whatever reason) and you'd like to prevent future ideas from slipping past your watch, consider these questions: How can I live more in the present? How can I make living in the moment a daily practice? What behaviours or patterns are not serving me and my creative living?

To use myself, as an example, here's how I would answer:

How can I live more in the present?

Taking the time to practice "positive boredom" (something I learned from How to Be Creative by Liz Dean). Sitting in a room for 5 minutes, unstimulated, can do so much -- it can allow time for self-reflection, and it can have a calming effect, bringing us to the relaxed state we need in order for ideas to come forward.

How can I make living in the moment a daily practice?

I have to take the dog out each day, at least three times while my boyfriend is at work. Rather than rushing back inside to return to my work (or return to my distractions), I could take Panda for a 10-minute walk. This would allow for a creativity recharge, and maybe my surroundings could even inspire a new project. (I tend to avoid being outside ... but what if ideas are trying to give me signals in nature, and I've been sitting indoors my whole life?)

And, like I mentioned above, even just sitting for 5 minutes without any sort of external stimulation can result in creative action -- "I'm bored, I need a project." (And thus, the ideas are sure to come!) Would it hurt me to turn my electronics off for 5 minutes a day? Absolutely not -- so many benefits!

What behaviours or patterns are not serving me and my creative living?

Something I know I do that I can work on eliminating or minimizing in my life is my technology use. In the morning, I have a habit of reaching for my iPad and checking Instagram, rather than working on my writing. There are days where I have the TV on in the background the whole time my boyfriend is at work ... and although I still get my work done, I would probably be more focused and creative if I had it off. And my laptop, which I do use for my business, also has a dozen tabs open -- tabs that tend to distract me. Technology can do so much for us as a society, yet it can also be a hinderance to creativity ... there needs to be a better balance in my life, where I'm using technology sparingly and with purpose.

Time to take action!

Whether you answer any or all (or none) of the questions above, take a moment for self-reflection: Look at where you're at with your creativity, and where you want to be. Then, take it a step further by committing yourself to doing ONE thing this week that will help you reach an "open and relaxed" state, and allow you to live in the present moment, so that ideas may begin to pay you more frequent and longer visits.

(Note: This is my second article relating to BIG MAGIC; if you enjoyed this one, and would like to read the first, click here.)

advice
2

About the Creator

Kaitlyn Dawn

27, Canadian, she/her

Life & Creativity Coach

reader, writer, and lover of words

https://www.kaitlyndawn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.