Motivation logo

Confidence when Confidence Gets Low

I wrote this to cheer on myself and others who are going through rough times. Even when you see every reason to give up, if you are aiming towards positive goals, please don't cave in. The circumstance may tell you to quit, but that doesn't mean you have to.

By Woman With an EdgePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1

Whenever my confidence is low, I just think of the times that seemed impossible, the times when I felt like I could not achieve. One term while attending college, I made the winter term dean's list all while working and consistently being involved in extracurriculars. That was a very proud moment for me. Not only because I had upped my GPA and attained A’s and B’s, but because that was a VERY stressful season for me. I was working a lot of hours and faithfully attending a Writer’s guild, plus I was also helping out my family at the time. When I was stressed out, what did I do? I prayed, remembered to rest and think positive, and reminded myself of the reason for it all: my passion. My passion is to write. My passion is to uplift, encourage, and motivate other people to be their ultimate best!

I knew that in order to pursue a career in writing, to reach and inspire as many people as possible, that I had to keep pushing. Even when I didn’t feel like it, I had to push myself. And it all goes back to my vision. Whenever I felt like quitting, whenever I felt like an assignment was too much, or I felt like I was going to break under the pressure, I went back to this image of me being this bad-ass magazine editor/book writer, large and in charge. I also thought of the lives I could impact, if only I persevere. It wasn’t easy making the dean's list. I worked very hard. But do you know what else I did? In order to support my dreams, in order to fuel that confidence that I so fervently held onto, I had to rest.

I believe that hardworking, successful people are the very same people who give themselves time to recuperate. Yes, I had to tell myself to keep going, but I also had to remind myself that I’m allowed to have fun every now and then. So I would occasionally go to the movies with a friend, do facial masks, go on walks, take naps, and whatever else was necessary to gain some peace of mind. Because, at the end of the day, although I know I have a vision in my heart, I know it will be counterproductive to run on empty. Because let me tell you something: humans are capable of many things yes. But we can only run on empty for so long until we begin to lose focus! So it is imperative, that while pursuing your passions, that you allow yourself time to recharge!

I know there are moments in life when many of us don’t feel so confident. Life isn’t perfect, and we don’t always see the expected outcomes. I get that sometimes what we work so very hard for, we don’t always achieve. And that may seem like when we should give up. That’s when you’ll probably hear the voices of others, and even yourself tell you: just give up, follow the status quo like everyone else. I’m here to tell you that your vision is uniquely yours for a purpose. No matter what it is, just keep believing in yourself, and don’t give up. Don’t quit on yourself, or your vision. There’s a whole generation of people that could be impacted positively by the good you want to do in this world. Maybe, if you just push a little further, just a little each day, then you’ll be steps closer to touching a hurting generation that needs the beneficial contribution from that gift you have inside, whatever it may be. If you’re consistent, and don’t give up, then at the very least you’ll be able to look back and say you never gave up on your dreams and passions.

advice
1

About the Creator

Woman With an Edge

If your heart is not in it, why do it? That's why I write.

Insta: womanwithanedge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.