Motivation logo

My Live Life to the Fullest List

Why I Created It and Where I Got Inspiration From

By Woman With an EdgePublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

I assume a good many of us have things we want to do before we die, right? For some, it might be something as wild as plummeting off a plane from thousands of feet; for others, it might be something as simple as trying a new or interesting food. We all have things we want to do before we kick the bucket, no matter how extreme or moderate they are. Hence, the phrase "bucket list." I have such a list, except my list really hasn't much to do with kicking the bucket. Instead, my list (yes, I have a physical list) involves taking life by the horns in the moment, and appreciating life in the now. It's not merely about doing as many exciting things as I can before I die, rather, it's about doing things that I believe is involved in living a fulfilled life, hence the name: "Live Life to the Fullest List." But I didn't come up with the inspiration for this list on my own. Actually, I got it from a TV show I came across two years ago called No Tomorrow.

The basic premise of the show is as follows:

  1. Quirky, safe, shy woman meets bold-adventurous man.
  2. Bold adventurous man has a theory that the world will end in eight months and 12 days via a destructive meteor.
  3. Because of this, he has an "Apocalist," which he aims to accomplish before the world ends, so in other words, a "bucket list."
  4. The quirky woman and bold adventurous man find each other again, quirky woman finds out about his theory, finds it crazy, yet still remains intrigued by his "live in the moment attitude," and ends up making a list of her own.

Upon watching this show, I became inspired to make a list a list for myself. I had over 100 items on this list that I wanted to complete, and I did accomplish a few. But then, I put the list on the back burner, and as I began to grow as a person, my interests began to change slightly. So, two years later, after rewatching the show, I have made a new list, which I am now calling my "Live Life to the Fullest List;" this list contains 50 quests as of now. Within that two year span of time, I really took time to decide the kind of person I want to be. And that is someone who takes risks, goes after what she wants, and punches fear in the face. I want to live in the moment, and I don't want to worry if the world will end tomorrow. I want to live life today, not worry about the future, and keep healing and growing. So, this list of mine... is something I go to, either to reflect on who I want to be as a person, or just to write down something I've never done before that is A. an out of this world, huge thrill or B. necessary for my emotional health. My point is, I want to enjoy life right now. I don't want to let anything hold me back from doing that... and sometimes that means doing things that are hard, mortifying, and possibly not fun. But 75 percent of this list, I guarantee you, is full of fun, fun, and MORE fun (no 75 percent isn't an actual figure, it's merely a guesstimate)!

So, below I will list a few of the items on my list. Some are elaborate, others are pretty self-explanatory, so I will list descriptions as needed. Oh, and I'm not listing them in any specific order.

1. Go on a decent date. More specifically, a date where me and the dude go out to eat, do something fun together, and sex isn't expected afterwards (don't get me wrong, sex is nice, but it's not everything). And I want him to be an actual prospect and not just some fling.

9. Learn the piano.

35. Say something radically honest to someone without being extra. I want to be more bold in general, but I also understand living a fulfilled life means treating others with respect—because that's what decent human beings do, duh.

26. Get a heart tattoo.

31. Interrupt a racist rant. I haven't witnessed one in person, but I've seen them on the internet and they make me absolutely livid. So I've been dying to disrupt such an occurrence.

20. Bring someone to Jesus. (only if they want to of course ;))

30. Meet Robert Downey Jr. (Sir, if you're reading this, do you want to go to lunch some time? My treat!)

3. Patch things up with a friend. Quite some time ago, I had a falling out with someone I care deeply for, and I really hope we can make things right some day.

So, there you have it, a list that I hope to achieve, one day at a time. Who knows? Maybe someone else out there got the same inspiration that I did to make such a list. Either way, DREAM BIG, folks! Thanks for reading! :)

Disclaimer: This is not a show/entertainment review. It is merely a tale of what inspired the aforementioned list I created.

Photo by Svyatoslav Romanov on Unsplash

goals
Like

About the Creator

Woman With an Edge

If your heart is not in it, why do it? That's why I write.

Insta: womanwithanedge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.