Motivation logo

Compassionate Resolutions

Let's be happily productive

By Mujer CronopioPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

Let's start by saying that I'm a Productivity Coach. I have to tell you as well the reason why I ended up being one: suicidal thoughts.

Long story short, losing the joie de vivre made me start a quest. At first, I was looking to carve some extra time for a hobby. Well, more than a hobby, a passion: creative writing. I convinced myself that writing was part of my psychological treatment.

And it was. Don't get me wrong!

When you need more time, one of your thoughts might be I need to be more productive, so I can do more things. The logical step for me, at the time, was to learn everything I could about productivity, so I did!

Let me tell you something, productivity concept alone is very, very dangerous! People tend to have some beliefs like:

  • Productivity = More things in less time
  • Productivity = Being busy all the time
  • Productivity = Having 10 projects at a time
  • Productivity = Strict calendars and schedules

Somethings that I discovered:

  • Don't do more things, do things that make you happy, make you feel alive, and the pleasure of being alive. (Yes, that could mean quitting that job!
  • You need time off, even time off from yourself. Boredom is hard to achieve these days. Our brain missed it too much!!!
  • Busyness is far from being productive. On the contrary, we could think it's the opposite.
  • Having too many projects is disrespectful to you and others. "NO" is a powerful word.
  • We need to revisit our conception of discipline. Being strict can kill you.
  • We could spend more time debating these ideas, but this post is not the place. My intention is to give you an idea of how wrong we are about productivity. Being wrong about this may seem harmless, but I'm afraid my own life had proved me wrong about this idea. Let's take a moment to reflect upon this concept.

    A simple idea about productivity that I can think of is an efficient way to do things/work/perform. If we double click efficient in this context, we will find a key as efficient is related since our Industrial era day to do more in less time.

    Do what? When? Why?

    If we consider ourselves machines, the definition is good enough. However, we are human beings. Therefore, "do things/work/perform" equals, in this case, to LIFE. Productivity has to do with the way we live as we are constantly doing things, creating things, transforming ourselves, developing ideas, building worlds. The way we decide to do it defines our day-to-day. So, what is it going to be?

    When you set your goals, make your year resolutions, and establish that one id your desires has to be achieved, you must (yes, it is a must!) be compassionate with yourself.

    Let me take the words from Kirstin Neff, self-compassion is:

    1. Noticing suffering
    2. Feeling moved by the suffering
    3. Helping/acting to ease the suffering

    Moreover, the three elements of self-compassion are:

    • "Self-compassion entails being warm and understanding toward ourselves when we suffer, fail, or feel inadequate, rather than ignoring our pain or flagellating ourselves with self-criticism."
    • "The very definition of being “human” means that one is mortal, vulnerable and imperfect. Therefore, self-compassion involves recognizing that suffering and personal inadequacy is part of the shared human experience – something that we all go through rather than being something that happens to “me” alone."
    • "Self-compassion also requires taking a balanced approach to our negative emotions so that feelings are neither suppressed nor exaggerated."

    Compassion and productivity are a marvelous combination. This mix starts at resolutions, goals, objectives. By establishing compassionate goals, we start a path full of happiness as we are being true to ourselves instead of machines chasing numbers, efficiencies in performances, and so on without taking care of our own life, which is our main responsibility.

    Productivity is a wonderful craft. It gives you the tools and techniques to achieve your goals. But be careful when you choose, look for the compassionate side first, base your decisions on well-built self-knowledge. Don't believe in magical formulas, they don't exist, you just need to pay attention to yourself (I know easy to say, no?).

    Let me summarize in actions when I tried to say:

    • Know thyself
    • Be self-compassionate
    • Set compassionate goals
    • Choose compassionate productivity tools and techniques to achieve those goals
    • Take care of yourself in the process (adjust your goals)
    • Enjoy the ride!

    Happines, here I come!!!

    Let's make this year about being HAPPILY PRODUCTIVE with SELF-COMPASSION.

    happinessgoals
    1

    About the Creator

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.