Motivation logo

Comparing Apples to Athletes

It's not about the other people, it's about yourself.

By Aaron hugheyPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Comparing Apples to Athletes
Photo by Shelley Pauls on Unsplash

I’m pretty sure I always will flinch to the sound of closing doors. And shiver to the touch of anybody I didn’t see behind me. Or even cower below someone’s mixed tone of voice. I am weak, I call it. But in reality, I am cautious. I check the backseat, the lock on the door, and my pockets 17 different times when I go to leave the house. It’s not OCD it’s anxiety. No, It’s my awareness. I look in every mirror when I leave the house to make sure I’m presentable to each and every one. Like judges on a runaway I ask permission to advance and some days they tell me “You made it'' and others it’s a brisk “Not today”. It’s not insecurity I swear, I am just prepared. Some days I leave the bed only to eat and tire myself out enough to get right back into it. People call it lazy days but I call it depression. But again it’s not, I am resting my body.

Compare me to the people of the internet who have the motivation to be physically, mentally, emotionally, and financially fit and I will come up short. So short my lanky 6-foot body would pale in comparison to the goliath that stands next to me. Shove me up against an athlete and I will always underperform. Put me in the same office as that 22-year-old millionaire and I will constantly fail to meet my numbers. Throw me next to the man who meditates for fun and reads inspirational quotes for breakfast and once again I will be inadequately equipped to say I am mentally stable. I eat cereal for breakfast, I am fighting just to have a job, and I ran 3 times this last week and felt like I was dying. I am not comparable to the standards. But that’s okay. I’ll just make my own.

If I run just one time this week and finish 2 miles I will have done better than I have done in 2 years. That’s a personal record broken. If I skip that late-night snack for a glass of water that’s not only a powerful self-control moment but a habit lost. There’s a change of heart. If I get a job and stick to it I’ll have worked harder than I have in weeks. Set your own goals, shatter them, and make more. If I just take one single step in the right direction I am moving mountains and when I realize that everything I do is at least trying I’ll maybe have learned something.

It’s not about the other people, it’s about yourself.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Aaron hughey

Starting new

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.